RSS Feed

Garden Suprise

Posted on

It’s been a little while since I completed an apron, but there’s a new one up at The Cornish Hen! It’s a gift for Clark’s teacher. I can’t believe our little boy’s last day of kindergarten is tomorrow!

So, you may recall that last year we attacked the area next to our garage and turned it into a butterfly garden.  One of the existing plants there is a hyrangea, which has never bloomed or thrived since we’ve lived here. I had hoped that by clearing the area it might begin to thrive again and guess what? Today I saw a bloom on it!
Hydrangea!
Isn’t it a beautiful pink? And I love the pink and green together.
Hydrangea
Mother hen update: Every time I go outside I check to see if any babies have hatched. So far nothing. I think realistically it could be any day this whole week.  I am so doubtful that anything really will hatch though.  These do not seem like the most maternal of hens, but then the species seems to have had no trouble thriving, so I guess most of them know what they’re doing.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

