RSS Feed

“I hate nature.”

Posted on

Poor Paul. That’s what he said tonight upon discovering that every single grape is gone.  Gone! Where did they go?? We were so so so excited about the many little grape clusters on our grape vines.  In fact, just yesterday I was looking at them and tempted to try one before I remembered that they are red grapes so I shouldn’t even taste them while they are still green.  I can only assume that the sparrows ate them?? The grapes are all high enough that none of the chickens could get to them.  I’ve never seen a squirrel climbing on the chicken wire, but I suppose that is another possibility.

This is quite a disappointment go us given that 1.  our extremely promising blackberry crop also completely died, and 2. our extremely promising plum crop (hundreds of tiny wee plums at the beginning of the summer!) also completely vanished (ala the grapes.)  We’re really not feeling very good about our garden these days.  In fact, my next post is going to be the letter I’m working on for Future Self with all kinds of notes, instructions, and reminders about what I want to do in the garden next year.

OK, that’s a sort of gloomy gus post with no pictures, so let me add in at least one or two happy garden photos.
Sunflower

coneflowers

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. Oh man, that is the worst! I’m so sorry that you lost all of your grapes and your plums (to say nothing of the blackberries)! BOOOOOO!! I honestly can’t figure out how people manage to keep the birds and squirrels (I’m guessing the latter are responsible for your plums, if our fruit trees are any indication — after they completely denuded our peach tree of probably over a hundred fruits, they’ve now moved on to our burgeoning apple crop…) from taking their produce. I know bird netting can help with berries and probably grapes, but I also know we’re too lazy to do anything with that (and consequently never get any of our blueberries). The produce thief that most infuriated me last year in our garden was whatever burrowed under our carrot bed and ate everything right up to the base of the fronds. So from the top it looked like everything was fine and flourishing, and when you went to pick a carrot… all you got was a handful of fronds and a good view down a carrot-shaped hole in the dirt. If I ever find the creature that did that, it is going to be sorry. Heh.

    Reply
  2. All of that said, it’s nice that nature gives you such beautiful flowers as the ones in these gorgeous pictures, as sort of an “I’m sorry about the grapes” gesture. 😀

    Reply
  3. Hi there! Just found your blog by way of your Grounds for Sculpture visit. I live just a few miles from there and love it! Something new to discover every time we go.

    But this reply is to your ‘grape’ post. I haven’t pruned my vines in a loooooong time so they are growing everywhere by now. I’ll have to check tonight to see if I have grapes left. If I do you are welcome to mine! I don’t seem to have the time to jelly them up as I’ve done before. I’ll let you know what I find when I get home later.

    Looking foward to browsing your blog.

    Cheers,
    Toni

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your nice comments and reading through the blog! Tell me, do you do anything in particular to your grapes to make them thrive so? And has anything ever gobbled up yours? Sarah

      Reply
      • I finally got outside to check on the vines; the fruit is pathetic. While there is some there, it is more like one grape per cluster that is ripen and the rest are green or gone. I’m sure my problem is pruning. The poor vine hasn’t been pruned in 2 years and there is sooooooo much vine the plant can’t support the proper fruit ripening.

        Other than that, the plant is health. I keep my compost piles not far from the trunk and I’m sure the soil is rich! That and the vine is pretty old. The trunk is pretty thick. So I’ve marked the calendar for pruning is December; usually delayed until a nice freezing day happens on the weekend. Good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

