RSS Feed

This n’ That

Posted on

Tonight at dinner Paul asked of the zucchini we were eating, “is this from the garden?” I said no, that I’d had to buy it at the store because we still didn’t have any. I added, “though for all I know there’s a 10 lb monster zucchini lurking out there under all the green.”  So after we dinner I went out to the garden and behold! a mammoth zucchini! I think I’ll be making bread from it tomorrow and saving the smaller one I also found for eating.
Behold-a zucchini!

Last night was very exciting–the kids’ first sleepover at Grandma’s house.  They had a wonderful time and no one was homesick and everyone behaved and had fun.
Sleepover at Grandma's
Of course, for Paul and I that meant loads of time for ourselves.  We went out to dinner and then this morning I had plenty of time to get started on the autumn quilt.  Here’s what I’ve got so far:
IMG_1334

I’m going to try to hit Joann’s in the next couple days to pick up a couple of fat quarters to fit in because, while I love the selection I have, I don’t think I have quite enough.  I’ll also need to select a fabric for the binding and backing.

It’s been two days of solid rain, but this afternoon–sunny blue skies emerged
Blue Skies, Smilin' at Me
We feel like we’ve got plenty of summer still left here, including our spontaneously planned vacation! Yes, that’s right. We’ll be headed down to Williamsburg, VA before school starts. We’ve enjoyed it so much there in the past that I’m sure we’ll have a wonderful time again this year and it will be a great end to the summer.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. Love the zucchini – that’s quite something! Another subway tile quilt… wonderful!! The fabrics are really neat.

    Reply
  2. Love the quilt! I want to try the subway tile, looks very cool. What size are your squares?

    Reply
    • Thank you! I loved the quilt I made for my friend Megan so much that I decided I’d make myself a series of seasonal subway tile quilts. First up, fall! Jen, I made every strip 3 1/2 inches wide (so finished it is 3 inches), then I cut the lengths to anywhere between 5 and 10 inches. I love how it’s coming together-so far it is all fabric I had in my collection, but today I’m going to get a little bit more.

      Reply
  3. I love the colors in that quilt!

    Reply
  4. I *love* that photo of you playing the zucchini like a flute! So awesome.Your quilt is going to be GORGEOUS! You have such a great eye for putting fabrics together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

