RSS Feed

Summer’s End Barbecue

Posted on

What a terrific day we just had, filled with friends and great food. A friend from high school whom I have literally not seen in 21 years came over this afternoon with his fiancee. He’s a professional chef and we love talking food, so of course food was a big part of the day. I started us off with a nice fresh salsa (with a few tomatillos from the garden in it) and a pitcher of my new go-to summer drink-white sangria. I’m telling you I could eat a whole bowlful of the boozy fruit left at the bottom of the glass.
IMG_1546
We smoked a rack of baby back ribs and they came out great. He showed us a helpful tip of smoking them for a few hours and finishing off for about a half hour in a foil packet with some liquid on the grill. To go with it I made my favorite summer salad-grilled corn, black beans, red onion, cilantro, cumin, red pepper, and it usually has mango in it, but I used peaches. I also made baked beans.
Summer Menu
Clark has discovered a love of ribs this summer. I find it almost a little disturbing how much he enjoys eating meat off the bone (it kind of grosses me out), but I am happy he likes my cooking so much.
Carnivorous Clark
For dessert I made peach ice cream. Non New Jersey readers I hope you can buy New Jersey peaches in your stores because they really are fantastic. I feel like here in the Garden State we are very lucky during the summer to have such terrific tomatoes, corn, blueberries, and peaches in local abundance. The ice cream came out very well and because I love ginger with peach I made ginger cookies using this recipe. They tasted very much like the ginger squares I’ve been making at Christmas and were a very nice accompaniment.
Homemade Peach Ice Cream and Ginger Cookie

 
Here’s to old friends and new, good food, and good times!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. This looks really delicious, we’ve still got warm weather to come though – I hope.

    Reply
  2. Pam Spencer Holley

    Thanks for the ginger cookie recipe; I’ve printed it out for my mom who loves anything ginger. Your meal looked wonderful, but you’re right about Clark really getting into eating those ribs!

    Reply
  3. Oh, drooling over everything! I’d love your salsa recipe…

    Reply
    • Hi Charlene,
      Thanks! For my salsa I simply coarsely chopped tomatoes, red onion, cilantro, lime juice, kosher salt, avocado, and garlic.

      Reply
  4. This looks so delicious! I just canned salsa last night, but I think I liked this chopped-up fresh kind even better. Of course, you can’t have it so easily in the winter, so I guess there’s room for both kinds!

    Just getting caught up on your blog. How did your garden turn out at the end? I have had tomatoes, cukes, and sweet corn coming out my ears for the last month – I’ve done a lot more canning than I ever have before and it’s been fun, in a weird way. I feel proud knowing how to do it. I’ve also been making peach pie non-stop – peaches are so delicious right now!

    I”m excited to see how that autumn quilt turns out. The colors in it are lovely.

    Have a good one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

