RSS Feed

R.I.P. Goldie and Old Man

Posted on

Goldie
 

It was a rough week in chicken coop. We were away, there was tons of rain (which always makes things damp and smelly), and while we had some people caring for the chickens in our absences, I’m not sure they did the best job.  We noticed this week that Goldie seemed to be broody and was, like the others, inconveniently in the nesting box. She was there for two days, then we noticed that some eggs seemed broken and there was a bad smell. Wednesday afternoon she left the box and then at bedtime she did not return to the coop.  And we’ve not seen her since 😦  Also missing Wednesday afternoon was Old Man Rooster.
The Handsome Dumb One and The Old Man
Now, we had gotten a message from our chicken carer while we were away that he seemed very unwell and we thought we were headed for a third vacation in a row with a chicken dying, but he rallied and was fine when we got home.  I don’t feel too bad about him likely becoming a meal for a fox or raccoon because he was clearly not long for this world and honestly, this way we didn’t have to deal with finding him dead, or worrying that we needed to put him out of his misery, or anything like that.  We do feel sad about Goldie-she was so beautiful and we all liked her, even though she was not very friendly to us.

Oh, and after Goldie left we cleaned out all the eggs and the coop and it was horrible and I won’t even describe it except to say that animal husbandry is quite often gross.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Awww, I’m so sorry to hear about Old Man and Goldie. I know chickens aren’t the most affectionate (or intelligent) of pets, but they are just so gosh darn cute that it’s hard not getting attached to them anyway. I hope they both return – fatter and happier than you’ve ever seen them. And if not… that somewhere they are at least safe.

    Reply
  2. sorry about the chickens. I agree that maybe it is the best end for the little rooster with the eye problem. Hopefully he fed someone. When I picked up Pippin I found a hen in your garden. She sounded very broody, but I looked and found no eggs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

