RSS Feed

Cherry Coconut Bars

Posted on

I wanted to make a special afterschool treat for Clark today and decided to make cherry coconut bars.  This is an old recipe of my mother’s, and you know it’s a good one-look at the state of this card! (the fact that the cherries are maraschino cherries makes it seem very 1960s or 70s to me.)

I’ve actually only made these once before and they did not turn out as I remembered. I’m happy to report that, according to the small sample I just ate, this batch came out perfectly and tastes as I remember!

Here is the recipe (in my words because you’ll note the cryptic nature of the recipe on the card):

Beat together 1 c flour, 1/2 c butter, and 3 T confectioners’ sugar.
Press it lightly into an 8″ square pan. Bake at 325 for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare the filling.

Beat together 2 eggs, 1 c sugar, 1/4 c flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, salt, and vanilla. [I did about 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp salt. ] Stir in 1/2 c nuts (I used slivered almonds), 1/2 c coconut, and a half cup maraschino cherries (I cut my cherries in half and added a few extra, too.)

Spread over the baked crust and bake an additional 25 minutes, or until lightly browned and set.

Delicious! Next time I will add a 1/2 tsp almond extract as well.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to get home! Yum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

