RSS Feed

Butternut Squash Stuffed Shells

Posted on

I’m in a spiral again of not writing 😦  I think I need to stop having big posts in my head that I want to do and instead just do tiny ones.  It seems like when I look back at posts I was having more fun when the kids were littler-baking more, cooking more, doing crafts more with them. Could it be? Or am I just not documenting it as much?? I hope it’s the latter because it would make me sad if it was the former.  It is true that this year things really seem to be changing for us with Clark being at school all day.  The mornings when Tabby is at school are wonderful, though there are so many things I want to do I feel a bit discouraged that it’s been a month and I haven’t even made an apron yet! I am, however, almost done with my quilt. Just stitching up the binding on the back, which is all hand sewing. (To my utter horror last night I found that my eyes had a hard time going between the tv and the closeup stitching-do I need bifocals?!)  So anyway, I’m holding off on  posting a picture of that until it is fully complete.  In the meantime, I haven’t done a what’s for dinner post in a while, and I was especially pleased with tonight’s dinner.
Butternut Squash Stuffed Shells
A few weeks ago I made a friend’s recipe for taco stuffed shells (basically taco meat in shells, and salsa for your sauce) and I thought, “hmmm….what other things can I put in a shell?” I was specifically interested in roasted vegetables. So here’s what I came up with today:

I roasted a butternut squash and scooped out the filling. I beat it up in the mixer with sauteed shallots (better planning would have been to just roast them in the pan with the squash), ricotta, sage, salt, pepper, parmesan cheese and an egg.  I put that in the shells and sprinkled them with freshly grated parmesan and bread crumbs and then drizzled it with melted butter before I baked it.  Result? Very yummy.  It tasted pretty much as I expected it to (which frankly was like when I made roasted butternut squash and shallots with linguine), though I thought the flavors might have been a bit too mellow.  If I had asiago cheese on hand that would have been great on top.  Also if I had pancetta or bacon, that would have been great in the filling.  And to be fancy, crisp little fried sage leaves on top.  Definitely a recipe I”m looking forward to continuing to tinker with.  Unfortunately…..the kids, who usually make me so proud by eating well varied foods, would not eat it. Losers. (But cute ones)

Ta-da!

1st Grade

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. I hear your horror! I started wearing glasses for the computer around a year or so ago, and then started wearing them for reading at work, and now I find that I can’t comfortably knit/etc. without them for the close-up work, especially in evening light. I have become the stereotype of the librarian with the glasses on the end of her nose, looking over them to see the person/TV/whatever is further away from me. Aging sucks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

