RSS Feed

Canning Apples

Posted on

I cannot believe I didn’t post about apple canning. See how sucky I am lately about keeping up?! Well, you may recall that two years ago I tried my hand at canning apples and I loved it.  I didn’t do it last year, but made sure to this year.  We haven’t gone apple picking yet so I had to pick my apples at the store.  I used the Ball version of apples with dried cherries.

Once again my friends Liz and Eleanor joined me and we had a regular canning party, complete with pizza lunch and extravagant Silver Palate Apple Cake:
Glazing the cake
We began by peeling all the apples
Peeled..

Then sliced them all
Peeled and sliced
Then put them in a humongous pot with sugar, lemon juice, cinnamon, and dried cherries. An even more humongous pot was set to boiling for the canning process.
Ready to cook

Once at the boil the jars were filled
Filling the jars

and then put into the boiling water bath for 20 minutes. When all was said and done the seals popped satisfyingly there were 9 successful jars of apples.
The finished product

These will be great to tuck into pastry filling, serve with roast pork, gobble up plain, or maybe warm over ice cream. Liz and Eleanor enjoyed it so much they have gone nuts making and canning all kinds of wonderful things like tomatillo salsa and homemade taco sauce. I wish I could be so industrious, but frankly I’m not. However, I am prepared to do applesauce after we go apple picking and I would like to try my hand at orange marmalade this winter. I realized (belatedly, for this year) that I always thought of canning as something you would do when you had a bumper crop of produce. And since our garden disappointingly yielded not enough of anything I didn’t even consider it. Which is silly. Because really I should have bought the local blueberries bulk when they were in season and made jam and canned it. Ditto peaches. Ditto strawberries. So, lesson learned. Next year I will vow to preserve more. And for this year I will happily enjoy the apples I have saved.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I canned everything I could get my hands on this year (before this I’ve only ever done tomato sauce) – it’s my new passion! My applesauce is way too runny – like baby food. I’ll have to work on that for next year. The apple pie filling I made turned out really well though, and it’s delicious – I’ve even eaten it on hot oatmeal! So good. Your apple jars are beautiful and the dried cherries are a great idea!

    I’ve been reading all of your blog posts to catch up – I had a ton of cucumbers too (including lemon cucumbers, which are fun to grow – round and yellow like lemons) and made bread-and-butter pickles. They look so pretty in the jar that I’m using them as hostess gifts during the holidays. Before this year I was not a fan of cucumbers either, but I started eating cucumber sandwiches for tea and now can’t get enough of them! 🙂

    Reply
    • You sound like an awesome canner, Robyn! I think holiday hostess gifts is perfect for wonderful canned goods. In fact, I had grand visions of it this year and what happened? Did I forget? Now I fear it’s too late! (Unless I make some orange marmalade.) I wish I could safely can the bacon jam I made last year, because little half pint jars of that would be great. I also wish I had made red pepper jelly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

