RSS Feed

Apples, Apples, Apples

Posted on

From apple to cider
 

What a beautiful holiday weekend! Yesterday we went apple picking, which was a lot of fun.  Tabby insisted on wearing her apple jumper, which I thought was adorable of her. As always I would have happily picked more and more apples, but we made ourselves stop after two basketfuls, which was 37 pounds.  
I can lift it!
That’s a lot of apples to have on hand.  
IMG_2761

IMG_2750

I love apples in baked goods, though, so I can always bake things and put them in the freezer.  But first-applesauce!   My mom has this wonderful gadget that is like an old fashioned food mill/mortar and pestle.  A conical sieve is on a tripod that you put over a bowl.  The pestle is wooden and also cone shaped.
From Apple to Applesauce
 You move it around and around forcing all the good apple mush through the little holes leaving behind the seeds and skin.  This means that you can cook your apples without peeling or coring-just quarter and throw in the pot!  
From Apple to Applesauce

This does make a very smooth applesauce-if prefer a chunky style you could not use this gadget. Which presumably is meant for more than applesauce but it literally all it has ever been used for in our house.
From Apple to Applesauce

If you’ve never gone apple picking, what are you waiting for? In our area I can recommend Melick’s in Oldwick and Wightman Farms in Basking Ridge.
Half Pint Goes Apple Picking

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Wow, 37 pounds is a lot of apples! And I adore that apple jumper that Tabby is wearing! Did you make it?

    Reply
    • I did make her the apple jumper! I made it for her for school last year, but it definitely fits her better now. I was happy that she remembered it and wanted to wear it. Yes, 37 lbs is a lot. I figure I can always make applesauce and some loaves of quick bread or muffins for the freezer. And of course keep some around for eating. Good thing they don’t spoil as quickly as peaches. oh, and that is awesome that your mom made so many cat costumes!

      Reply
      • Awesome! I’m sure you’ll find no shortage of things to do with the apples – I admire your energy and ability to make them into good stuff!

Leave a Reply

