RSS Feed

Back in the Sewing Saddle

Posted on

Last week I made a vendor apron for someone (and got to send out my very first PayPal invoice!) and I liked it so much I made another one yesterday. You can see them on The Cornish Hen here and here. A trip to Joann’s last week has me fired up to spend every spare minute I can working on my various sewing projects. I’ve been meaning to make Tabby a quick and easy skirt out of some soft and polka dotted pink corduroy (that I bought literally a year and a half ago.)
It seemed too simple to just hem the fabric, sew a side seam, and put in an elastic waist, so I asked her what sort of embellishment she wanted. She requested bows. Hmm….I’ve never put bows on sewn things before. I fiddled with ribbon, sewed it together, and then sewed six pink bows along the bottom.
Beribboned and Bowed Skirt
I like the way they look, and so does she.
Beribboned and Bowed Skirt
The skirt has some nice bounce to it, as demonstrated during this lovely twirl.
Beribboned and Bowed Skirt
But I’m not so sure she has a future in modeling because when I said, “do you want to do any special poses to show your skirt?” this is what she gave me:
Beribboned and Bowed Skirt

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. HAHAHAHAHA! That’s some fierce, edgy, very editorial modeling she’s got going on there! (The skirt is adorable, by the way.)

    Reply
  2. LOL! I love it! The bows are also a really cute embellishment.

    Reply
  3. the bows really look nice, also loved your vendor aprons MOM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

