RSS Feed

A Nice Long Weekend

Posted on

For the kids and I it was a four day weekend, for Paul just a regular one.  But still it felt action packed with nice autumn activities.  Dinner with friends on Friday night and I made a dessert I came across via Pinterest (which I’m loving, if you haven’t checked it out give it a go!)  So this Pumpkin Crunch Cake is apparently a dump cake type recipe that’s been around for ages-one of those tiny bit trashy type recipes that is really delicious.  Well, I made it and can’t believe I never knew about it before because it is heavenly.  Here it is fresh from the oven
Pumpkin Crunch Cake
And here’s a cut piece.
Pumpkin Crunch Cake
Basically it’s like a pumpkin pie bottom and the top is a crunchy sort of cake-y sort of crumble-y topping.  Here’s how you make it: Mix together a 15 oz can of pumpkin, a 12 oz can of evaporated milk, 3 eggs, 1 1/2 c sugar, 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t salt.  Pour into a greased 9×13 pan.  Sprinkle one box of yellow cake mix evenly across the top, then sprinkle pecans across the top ( I used probably a little more than 1 cup.)  Then pour 1 c melted butter all over it. Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes.  This was wonderful warm served with, what else, Cool Whip, and I liked it possibly even better chilled the next day. I’ll definitely be making this again.
Saturday was lots of fresh air and Cub Scout activities, including Clark getting to deliver the popcorn he sold a few weeks ago. It made me very pleased to see how proud he was to fill up his red wagon and walk around town making his deliveries.
In the afternoon our friends Liz and Eleanor arrived to take some family portraits of us. I’ve always wanted a nice family picture in our backyard and there’s really only so much I can do with a self timer. They are excellent photographers so I asked them if they’d be willing to try their hand. People pictures aren’t really their thing, but I knew they’d excel-and they did! We went around the yard trying a few different things, some hokey, some posed, and to my delight-some with Pippin in them! Here’s one of the ones I really like:


After our photoshoot it was time for our most favorite-pizza and games. A super Saturday!
Sunday we all went to a performance of The Princess and the Pea, which was wonderful and very unusual. The children sat on the stage and the grownups in chairs behind them. It was quite small and intimate. It was large scale puppets and the puppeteer was absolutely wonderful. He walked around with the puppets and even though he was moving them right in front of you, you sort of forgot about him. He also interacted wonderfully with the audience (and Tabby almost cried loudly because she didn’t get a turn trying out the mattresses.) Check out what it looks like here.


I’m making headway on mulching the gardens and am looking forward to choosing some new perennials this winter to put in. The yard is still not quite cleaned up for winter, but I’m getting there. This brave and resilient dwarf snapdragon insists that it’s not time for that yet!

I’ve also been doing quite a bit of sewing, including aprons which I’ll post about soon, and a dog bed (pillowcase) that I’m working on.  More to come on those projects..

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. That does sound like a great weekend; thanks again for including us in it! 😀 Also, I love your autumn header. I hadn’t noticed it before!

    Reply
  2. “a dump cake type recipe” – LOLS! And those are the best ones, aren’t they? YUM. Also, I love your family portrait, but it’s missing one thing. A chicken! We need to get out the photoshop and put one or two on the ground by your feet. Very classy, don’t you think?

    Reply
  3. I am putting in a request for one of the family pictures. I also think I must run to the store to buy some pumpkin because the cake looks delicious. I am hoping that I can freeze the rest as by the time I would get to eat it all it would be stale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

