RSS Feed

Salt Dough Ornaments

Posted on

Making Salt Dough Ornaments and Gift Tags
It was quite the weekend of crafting. On Friday night I got together with friends and we all worked on various projects. I painted little wooden trees that will be Christmas decorations.  On Saturday I did some true holiday crafting-making a felt and sequin ornament. And on Sunday I made salt dough and we all made ornaments and gift tags.  I can’t believe I haven’t done this classic kids’ project with Clark and Tabby before.  It’s very easy to make up the dough and they loved using cookie cutters to cut out shapes.  My interest in doing this was sparked by something I saw on Pinterest.  We put the pieces into a 200 degree oven for about 4 hours to cook them dry.
Making Salt Dough Ornaments and Gift Tags
After dinner we pulled out paints and got to decorating.
Making Salt Dough Ornaments and Gift Tags

Making Salt Dough Ornaments and Gift Tags
It really is like making and decorating sugar cookies, though I think even easier.  The colors looked good on the white dough and Clark is at an age now where he made nice things.  Tabby is at an age where all of her lumps got painted a muddy mixture of about a million colors.  Paul made a special fairy for Tabby and an Angry Bird for Clark (on a list of things he made at school of “things I am thankful for” Angry Birds was #1.)
Making Salt Dough Ornaments and Gift Tags
I was very keen on the idea of stamping out circles and squares and painting people’s names on them to use as gift tags for Christmas presents.  I also tried out using a rubber stamp, and I love how that came out.
Making Salt Dough Ornaments and Gift Tags
The next day I sprayed them with a clear coat of some stuff so that they will be nice and shiny.  Except for the part about baking them for four hours, this is such a nice anytime easy to do project. And I loved it that when we were all painting together Tabby announced “we’re artists!”
Making Salt Dough Ornaments and Gift Tags

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Gah! Your kids are great. And they are artists! Incredible! I do like how the stamped ones came out as well. That snowman one is terrific.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

