RSS Feed

The Holidays Are Here!

Posted on

IMG_3556
(And I’m not talking about Spring Break, AD fans) Thanksgiving is almost a week past and here I am just getting around to writing about it. Well, it was very lovely.  Abundant and delicious food, family, a fine day. Let’s talk food, of course.  My pumpkin ginger cake turned out delicious-the crack was not even noticeable, it just sealed right up.  I made a new kind of nut to put out in little bowls (OK, if I was an ANTM contestant who talked about having a “signature” something, then I would say that my signature thing as a hostess is homemade savory/sweet/spicy nuts to put out in dishes to nibble on with drinks) and they were addictive–I used walnuts, whole almonds, and pecans and roasted them. Then I melted butter, brown sugar and minced fresh rosemary.  Tossed the nuts around in the pan til well coated and even toastier, spread out, sprinkle with coarse salt, let cool. The rosemary-brown sugar was a really nice combination. Try it!
This year's nuts-roasted rosemary mixed

My turkey was beautiful and had good flavor, but I’m going to come right out and say it–I thought it was dry. Yep, just like in a commercial. And I let my great aunt make the gravy and it was gross (and I can say that because she will never read this) and so then there wasn’t even any gravy for it. Oh well. There was stuffing, mashed potatoes (my cousin’s wife made the most heavenly sour creamy peppery potatoes), green bean casserole, salad, cornbread, cranberry sauce-it was all wonderful.

There was a parade of desserts.
parade of pie
And much afternoon fun was had by all on the zipline.

The rest of the weekend we enjoyed a play and some nice family time.
Rake the leaves. Jump in the leaves.
Watching the balloon

I also got started on my big sewing project-a dress for the holidays. Due to a cutting snafu I had to take a trek down to Joanne’s for some additional fabric. I’ve got 12 days to finish the dress, so you should be seeing progress soon.

I’m also excited to start figuring out (and yes, it’s probably kind of late for this) what things I want to make for sure this season.  I think I’ll finish off some holiday embroidery and turn it into something.  Plus I need to whip up some prizes for the winners at our annual cookie party.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like a great day! Did you make the pumpkin roll? That and the nuts look fabulous!!!

    Reply
  2. What a lovely day! I love that acorn, by the way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

