RSS Feed

Christmas Stars

Posted on

Folded stars hot pads
Many years ago my grandmother gave me this lovely hot pad (the pink and blue one in the picture above.) I’ve always wanted to be able to make one myself and was bummed that I couldn’t ask her how to do it, as she died several years ago. What was I thinking? There’s a tutorial for everything on line, and this is apparently an old and well known design. I just googled “circular hot pad folded stars” and voila! Many results. I used this one at Liesl Made (perhaps I was drawn to it because our cat’s name is Liesl?).

It’s really just a matter of cutting up many 5″ squares and then ironing them in to shape. You only sew down the tips of the stars and you lay it out on a sort of a grid.
Folded stars hot pads
There are so many layers of fabric that I didn’t even use my Insulbrite batting, just regular stuff.  I’m very pleased with the way these turned out and am looking forward to making many more of all sorts of fabrics. These will be either party prizes for the cookie party, or possibly teacher gifts. I am tempted to just keep the fancy gold one for myself 🙂
Folded stars hot pads
My grandmother’s has more layers and I think she probably used a smaller square to start with, so I may experiment with that, too.

Check out this crafty decoration the kids and I made, too. Clark really liked doing this and it was super easy.
holiday "lights"

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I love those hotpads! They look so complex and as always you did such a nice job of putting fabrics together.

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne! I’m just about to finish another one up that, as I’ve been making it, thought “these fabrics have Anne written all over them.” Picture to come soon…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

