RSS Feed

One Week ’til Christmas (But who’s counting?)

Posted on

Radio City Christmas SPECTACULAR
A few highlights this week in the world of Christmas excitement.  On Monday we let Clark play hooky and
took the children into the city to see the Radio City Christmas Spectacular.  I had never been before and was absolutely amazed by it.  I really loved it-the high kicking Rockettes, the glitter, the glamour, the sparkly chandelier, the dancing Santas, the live Nativity, the well integrated 3D, and really the whole thing. Oh, and the kids liked it too.

Radio City Christmas SPECTACULAR
Afterwards we walked over to Rockefeller Center to show them the tree.
Radio City Christmas SPECTACULAR
Then went out for a festive lunch followed by picking up Magnolia Bakery cupcakes for the trip home.  It was a really lovely (if, as always with city trips, surprisingly long.)

On Thursday Tabitha had her Christmas program at school.  She was an angel (as Clark astutely, if callously, pointed out earlier in the week-“if you don’t have a special part you’re just an angel.”).  She did a great job singing and even charmed everyone by being the child to jump up and enthusiastically shout “Hey!” during Jingle Bells.

 

On Friday my mother came over and joined Tabby in me in making one of my favorite childhood Christmas cookies-Danish Pastries.  These are a flaky sandwich cookie with a little jam filling.  They take quite a while to make and the recipe doesn’t make a lot, so they are especially treasured.  They also use an astonishing amount of butter–3 sticks butter, 4 c flour, a little salt, water, and yeast is what makes the dough!   I didn’t have a doughnut cutter so I used an ornament shaped cutter and a tiny star to cut out the middle. Interestingly they taste especially great from the freezer!

I also found time this week to make a couple of jewelry rolls.  There’s just one week left to Christmas and I’ll be baking our sticky buns, some more cookies, and hopefully making another star hot pad.  Oh, and finally deciding what to make for the teacher gifts (biscotti? homemade marshmallows? zippered pouches?) and making them.  It’s the merriest time of year!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

