RSS Feed

Take Archie’s Advice

Posted on

Although I am a dedicated Wegmans grocery shopper, I do go to ShopRite occasionally, mostly because I like to buy fish there. The fishmonger is a charming elderly man (“86 this year!”) who likes to chat with customers and full of advice about seafood. I usually buy cod, flounder, or tilapia, but this week my eye was caught by the fresh calamari. I asked Archie about it he launched into a little speech about getting the most out of it by trying new things and embracing failure. He is too adorable. I bought a few tubes and brought them home, eager to fry them up. Some years ago I had watched Nigella Lawson fry up calamari and she made it look so easy and delicious.
I followed her recipe, which is basically to shake up your tubes with some seasoning and cornstarch. I used some Old Bay, salt, and pepper.
Fried Calamari-at home!
Fried Calamari-at home!
The finished result was delicious. Perhaps a little paler than I expected-in fact, threw some of them back in to brown them up more, but when they were pale they were actually even better because the calamari was very tender. The best suggestion from Nigella was to serve with garlic mayonnaise-that seems so British doesn’t it? Just dip your food in mayo! But I tell you, a minced clove of garlic in the mayonnaise did make a fantastic dipping sauce.
Fried Calamari-at home!
The kids loved this (how rewarding was it to hear Clark say “Mom you make the best dinner ever!”?) and except for the oily smell left in my kitchen, was really no trouble at all. And it was not even expensive. So next time you’re considering trying a new fish or a new recipe, go ahead and take Archie’s advice to eat more fish, and to try new things!

A couple of other notes.  I am going set crazy in Flickr! In addition to “Skies“, I added new colors, so now I have red,orange, yellow, blue, green, pink, purple, and white.  I’m envisioning a set of mugs, each with a different color theme (but who needs a whole new set of mugs? Not me.) Aside from just liking looking at the pictures grouped by color, I find it interesting to look and see how many different types of things are a certain color, i.e. they are not all flowers, or all clothes-pretty much each color includes man made objects, people, and things in the natural world.  Clark asked me to make him a mug of his own (because he admire the orange one I did for Paul) with pictures of his choosing. Sure!

Finally, when I did my Project 365 Year 2 look back I had a picture in mind which somehow I didn’t see when looking back, so assumed it was from 2010.  In fact, it was in 2011 and I loved it so much that I’ll add it in right here as one of my very favorites of the year:

#61: Everyday Animal Naughty Squirrel!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Good for you for trying something new! I must admit I have trouble doing that when it comes to cooking – I feel like my skills are so amateur that I end up doing the same few things over and over. While I won’t be so adventurous as to try calamari (also due to my vegetarianism, haha), I will definitely take this as inspiration to try something new!

    And I love that squirrel photo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

