RSS Feed

Low Tech Craftiness

Posted on

One of our favorite things to do each year is make a calendar with ourselves in it. No, not a nice Snapfish calendar of photos (though I do that), but one that’s is super low-tech.  First, buy a calendar with outdoor pictures-we favor a state calendar.  Then print out (on paper! don’t even bother with photo paper!) pictures of yourselves in positions that you think would be suitable and funny for the calendar images.  Using teeny tiny sharp scissors carefully cut yourself out. Then tape it with packing tape smoothly covering the whole thing right to the page. Voila! Hilarity every month!  Here are my two favorite pages from this year’s:

Whee

March

Now, what to do with the leftover little pictures I’d cut out? Oh, how hilarious would I look peeking out of the top of my book? I made a bookmark out of myself (again with packing tape being the laminate, and in this case I also used patterned paper that I am attached to.)

I'm a bookmark

There you go-have fun with scissors, pictures, and tape.

Now for a more artistic endeavor. You may recall that for our pottery anniversary I took Paul to a paint your own pottery place and we painted things. Just got them back and they are lovely. I made Paul a pencil cup:
Sarah's Pencil Cup for Paul

Sarah's Pencil Cup for Paul
And he made this gorgeous tray. I can’t wait to entertain and put crackers and cheese out on it.
Paul's fish platter

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. OMG I love the calendar idea!! Brilliant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

