RSS Feed

The Ladies are a-layin’!

Posted on

We haven’t had our own fresh eggs for a few months now, but the days are truly getting longer and the sure sign of that is…the hens have started laying again! Quite suddenly last week they began to lay again.  We’re getting between 1 and 3 eggs a day.  Aren’t they lovely?
back in action
And faced with an abundance of large rich eggs again I made a beautiful quiche today:
Broccoli-Cheddar Quiche
Look how yellow it is! It’s a broccoli-cheddar quiche, but I was actually using white cheddar, so all that gorgeous gold is from the eggs.  We are down to 10 chickens now following the sad death this weekend of one of the hens.  I believe she was egg bound, I tried to help her, but to no avail.  😦   We are excited that we’ve decided this spring to go ahead and order chicks from Murray McMurray.  Perhaps I’ll get those Buff Orpingtons I’ve always wanted.  My friend would like us to get Aracaunas, which are the chickens that lay a beautiful blue-green egg.
It almost doesn’t seem right to see signs of spring, given that we’ve had such a mild winter with barely any snow. But the signs of spring are definitely there, from more sunlight each day, to spring bulbs pushing their way up a bit early.
Spring Shoots

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I am so intrigued by the thought of cool breeds of chickens. I can’t wait to meet these fancy new ones you’re going to get!

    And I also feel like it’s too weirdly early to be looking for signs of Spring, but at the same time I’ve been so excited by the quality of light, and the longer days, and the bulbs poking up (not that they haven’t been doing that since December, but still…). I guess now’s the time of year to just enjoy the anticipation.

    Reply
    • Can you even imagine the number of photo-ops with adorable little fluffy chicks? You may have to have a photo excursion to our house!

      Reply
  2. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! CHICKS!!!!!!!! I call dibs on a picture of a chick for “soft” for SMERSH!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

