RSS Feed

The Loooong Weekend

Posted on

Spring Green

So, it’s a few days past now, but we had an action packed Presidents’ Day weekend.  But first, let’s talk about spring!spring!spring!  The weather today is so gorgeous I kind of wish I was in a lounge chair up in the treehouse typing this. (It’s my secret yearning to have comfy furniture up in the tree house. For myself.) Although I’m disappointed that we never got to go sledding this winter, or have a proper cozy holed up by the fire kind of snowed in weekend, there’s always next year, right? And in the meantime I’m getting pretty excited by the many signs of spring.  Last night I slept with my window cracked open and was awoken by birds.  I’m thrilled to see daffodil, crocus, and tulip bulbs rapidly pushing their way up out of the mulch.  In the fall I planted a ton of bulbs rather randomly, so it’s going to be a spring full of surprises.
Crocus ready for another beauty shot
Today is beautiful out and I took Pippin and my mom’s dog for a walk in my new favorite field.  The tall grasses rustled beautifully in the wind and I could hear lots of beautiful birdsong from red-winged blackbirds (and was very pleased with myself for knowing that’s who it was!) I’ve seen a few of our fish swimming around in the pond, too.
the fish are waking up
It can’t be long before we hear spring peepers, big green froggie returns (1st sighting last year was March 6), and I have my least favorite sign of spring sighting.  You know, looking back at the previous “signs of spring” posts I see that most of them occurred in the first week of March. So honestly, even though I keep thinking spring is coming so early, it seems like it’s actually right on schedule.

Now, on to our busy weekend.  Paul and I went out to a concert on Friday night-Richard Thompson.  A great evening of music.  Saturday afternoon we went to see the Harlem Globetrotters, an event which Paul had won free tickets to!
Sweet Georgia Brown!
It was totally fun, though if I’m perfectly honest about it I don’t know if the kids loved it as much as we thought they might. But they still had a good time and we totally bought the official red, white, and blue basketball and had them sign it.  We’ve got a new proper basketball hoop up in our driveway and Clark, Paul, and I have all been having a good time with it.  Sunday we had our first successful geocaching experience-finally!  And on Monday we went to see Dan Zanes in concert in New Brunswick, followed by other free activities as part of their Family Day.  We’ve loved listening to his stuff ever since Clark was born and it was a real treat to see and hear him live, sing along (great set-many songs we knew and loved), and dance around. Here’s Clark meeting Rutgers’ Scarlet Knight:
Go Scarlet Knights!

And to wrap it up, one more final sign of spring?  Every morning now when we let the chickens out the rooster in charge runs around trying to mate with ladies.  He’s got spring fever!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. J took Molly to see the Globetrotters a year ago with free tix. I think she didn’t really get it either. We described it to her as “clowns playing basketball” so that’s what she still thinks of it as.

    Reply
    • that is a hilarious description. Partway into it I said to Clark, “So, um, real basketball isn’t like this, you know. They don’t talk through it.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

