RSS Feed

A Springtime Frock for Jill

Posted on

Who is Jill? Jill is a very old doll handed down to me. She used to be played with by my mom and aunt.  She has one leg, but that doesn’t stop her from rocking her gorgeous and extensive wardrobe. When I was a kid I loved imagining her life and what she wore each of her ensembles for. She has a red and white voile ballgown, silky pajamas with a transparent robe, a skating dress, “casual wear”, a red plasticy raincoat, a thick wool coat with a fabulous lining, and a lovely violets and tulle dress that I fancied she wore to afternoon tea. I believe she is from the 1940s and her outfits reflect this.  In my imagination Jill had the most wonderful life–very lively and gay, right out of a book.

Anyway, I pulled her out yesterday to show her to Tabby (along with another doll who shall have to have a post of her own someday-she also has a wardrobe) and Tabby was very appreciative of her.  I asked her to choose some fabric for a new dress and she did not hesitate to choose this very large print of beautifully vibrant springtime colors.  I’ve never made doll clothes this size before and I just kind of guessed and based it on her other dresses.  Oh my goodness-so fun to choose trims for a doll-she has trim on the bottom, baby rick rick around the neck, and some unevenly cut tulle underneath.  The fit was a bit loose (and how on earth do you make a sleeve that is not kimono like??) so I added a sash.

A new outfit for Jill

A new outfit for Jill
I also decided to make her a headband. I hot glued rick rack and a paper flower to a bit of floral wire (stolen from a bird feeder ornament Clark made this winter.)
A new outfit for Jill
I think she looks quite fetching and as I ran around the yard setting her up for her modeling pictures I felt like I was making Edith, The Lonely Doll. Jill admires the springtime flowers…
A new outfit for Jill

I had so much fun doing this that I think we can expect to see Jill’s wardrobe expanding!

Update: According to her back, Jill is a Vogue doll, copyright 1957.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

6 responses »

  1. Yay! I love this! I also have fond memories of dressing up dolls as a kid, including making them clothing. I’m so glad Tabby is now able to enjoy the same doll you and your mother played with – that’s so neat!

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne. I’m surprised by how taken Tabby is with her, and very pleased. Since she’s special and fragile I won’t let her play with her by herself, but we’re having a very nice time together with her. And I feel like a whole new world of sewing/craft projects just opened up to me!

      Reply
  2. Goodness, Jill is one well-dressed doll!! She’s come a long way… 😉 LOVE the fabric!

    Reply
  3. I must also tell you that reading this post put a HUGE smile on my face – ;)) Seriously loved the entire post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

