RSS Feed

Quack, Quack…Who’s there?….Ducklings!!

Posted on

Duckling Morning
Because it’s not enough to have two cats, one dog, three fishies, and ten chickens….last night we got
three ducklings!! It seems crazy impulsive, but last year we talked about it and decided we’d get some, but were too late.  So when I saw the sign outside Tractor Supply Company yesterday morning announcing that Chick Days are here, I immediately called Paul and said let’s get them if we’re going to. After dinner we headed out and oh my goodness. If you’ve never seen a container of a large group of baby chicks and baby ducks peep peep peeping madly, you really must.  It’s so overwhelmingly adorable that it gives you an instant lift. We picked out three and brought them home and set up them up in a container with a heat lamp, water, and the special baby  chick food.
Duckling Morning
Here’s the crazy thing….due to having cats and a house that really doesn’t have any rooms or spaces that can effectively be shut off, the best place we could find to put them is our bedroom closet. It had the room and a door and so that’s where they are. And holy cow are they LOUD!! oh my goodness, the peeping!! So, so loud!
Duckling Morning
The kids are really excited and we are too. (and so is the cat who has just set up camp outside the door and keeps waving a paw around inside.) What’s funny to me is how much like a grown up duck they look like. The feet are big and webbed and their bills are huge.
Duckling Morning

Oh, and they also splash around in their water already, which is adorable.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. They’re so cute! I have to say, I’m so happy to see when you get a new creature – I am living vicariously! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

