RSS Feed

Artist’s Roll

Posted on

Clark was recently invited to a birthday party for one of his girl classmates.  He’s not actually friends with this girl, but we do know about her that she likes arts & crafts very much (she made all her Valentines Day cards and they were charming and creative.) I got the idea to make her a roll for a set of colored pencils and personalize it.   Paul has a bamboo mat type thing that rolls up his paintbrushes and I’ve made little bags in the past with slots for crayons, so this seemed like a good idea.
It rolls up just like the jewelry rolls I like to make:


Appliqueing her name was easy-I used steam-a-seam and then stitched it on as well.   The slots are spaced 3/4″ apart, which is perfect for pencils (and there are 24 of them.)

I’m showing it here with some random pencils I had around, but we’re going to buy her a nice set and a drawing pad, too.  This was very easy to make and even though I don’t know her, I hope she loves it.  If I was 7 I would!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

7 responses »

  1. Adorable! Love the i dotted with the ladybug. My mother had something like this for knitting needles, but now that I use mostly circulars I don’t use it anymore. Hmm…niece just turning 8 would love something like this…

    Reply
  2. Oh this gives me an idea for my makeup brushes, eyeliner pencils and the like!!! I travel a lot and usually just through things in a zip lock bag. How lovely it would be to unroll something like this at my destination!

    Reply
  3. What an awesome gift! I think anyone of any age would be excited to receive it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

