RSS Feed

Meadowsweet

Posted on

Meadowsweet Top!
I bought three fabrics from the Sandi Henderson Meadowsweet collection a few years ago.  I wasn’t sure what I’d do with it, but I loved it-especially the plaid with the flowers on top.  At the same time I’ve had a pattern for three years earmarked to become a dress.  I even have the fabric for that at the ready, but still haven’t made it.  Enter my resolve to actually get to my projects.  I wasn’t ready to make the full dress, but what if i just jumped it and tried out the top version of it and used the Meadowsweet?  This pattern turned out to be not too difficult but when through some design changes along the way.  Originally it was meant to have a sash that went under the bust, wrapped around, and tied in front, as well as a large border along the bottom.  When I looked at the pictures I saw the portion of the top that went from under the bust to the hem as being the main fabric and, accordingly, chose my favorite, the plaid, for that part.  The medallion fabric would go on the top, and the orange would be the sash and border.

Here’s what happened.  First it turns out that this pattern calls for a long invisible zipper. My mom helped me out with a long zipper, though it was a regular one.  I did some pressing and fiddling and think the zipper ended up coming out really well and nicely covered.
Meadowsweet Top!

The bust darts and boatneck fit very well.  Everything was going together quite well until I sewed it all up and tried it on.  Too tight around the hips!!! Well, since this was the trial before the dress, good to know this pattern will need altering for someone of my luscious proportions. (and speaking of my luscious proportions, all my tops are sleeveless not because I think I have nice toned arms that people should see. On the contrary! But sleeveless is a)easier to make and b)way more comfortable for me to wear. So I figure the world can just suck it and look upon my hammy upper arms!) I also opted at this point to not put the tie under the bust because I was afraid on me it would look too maternity.  I ripped open the three seams (back, and two sides) and resewed with a narrow seam allowance and it fit just right.  However, I just couldn’t see adding the wide border at the bottom.  I really wanted to get that orange pop in, though, so I made some bias binding out of it and put it on the hem.
Meadowsweet Top!

Conclusions? A more fitted, structured top than the other patterns I’ve made, but a flattering boatneck and very nice.  The top half of fabric was more prominent than I thought it would be, so I do wish I had reversed the fabrics, but that’s ok.  Almost by accident the medallions are centered very nicely.  Also, it turns out that I thought the pattern was more complicated than I thought because of all the pieces for “facings.”  It was just a way to finish the neckline and armholes, and knowing that next time I’ll just finish them with whatever binding I want.

Meadowsweet Top!
I do have plenty more of these fabrics and I’m going to make Tabby a dress out of them.  That’s right….matching mother-daughter outfits!!!  I just can’t resist, though. I mean, how cute will she look in the plaid? I’m also thinking that whatever scraps I can then have leftover will be made into a little purse for me.

All in all, delighted to have another top to add to my spring & summer wardrobe!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Your comments about your lusicious figure and hammy arms just cracked me up! Seriously, though, the whole thing looks great! I’m fascinated by how much goes into making clothes, and it’s fun to watch from the sidelines to see you tackling new challenges with new garments. I can’t wait to see the matching mother-daughter outfits!

    Reply
  2. I feel your pain about the arms, all the cute stuff is sleeveless so I just throw a little cardigan over it to keep it work-appropriate.

    Reply
  3. I love this top! It’s so flattering and the fabrics are gorgeous. For what it’s worth, your arms look normal to me – like mine, anyway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

