RSS Feed

Down on the Farm

Posted on

Backdoor congregating
It’s starting to feel kind of farmy around here.  Having the ducks around, even though there’s only three of them  is such a novel addition to our yard.  In the past week they  have become accustomed to coming out of the coop and returning to it at night.  They honestly don’t seem very aware of where their food is, though.  Also, I thought they’d be in the pond all the time, but they’ve only taken a few brief trips over there.  Mostly they like to sit under the Japanese Maple tree,
Nestled Together
and drink from the waterers a lot.
at the waterer
They have also quickly learned to snap up bits of bread when we toss them to the chickens, and aren’t afraid to get right in there.

Paul was hard at work today building the ducks a new home that will keep them cozy and dry at night.  There is plenty of room in the chicken dwelling, but they don’t seem to want to share, so now they have their own little hutch. Complete with appropriate window, of course!
In progress
I did a lot of garden work today-churning up the beds, pulling out the debris, adding the neighbor’s seasoned horse manure, and letting the chickens help. The beds are ready now for seeds and seedlings. One of the beds has the peas already latched on to the fencing, and the small asparagus bed has been producing a handful of spears each day. I’ve also added peas to that bed.
working on the garden beds
In other chicken news the broody hen appears to be doing a good job. She briefly got off yesterday and I was able to peek into her nest and see 6 of her own eggs and 2 or 3 that appeared to be another hen’s. If those eggs happened to be fertile then she could hatch those chicks as well. A couple times I’ve seen other hens trying to get in the box with her (stepping right on her!) and I’ve climbed in an pulled them off her. That’s one week down for her, and two more to go. If she’s successful she’ll be hatching her chicks right around when we’ll be getting our delivery of chicks.
Tulip Row
And finally, the birthday celebrations continued last night with a wonderful evening of surprises planned by Paul. We went out to dinner at The Frog and Peach-a swanky restaurant I’ve often heard of but never been to. It had amazing and delicious (and kind of pretentious) food. From there we walked a block over to the State Theater and saw Momix: Remix. When Paul handed me the tickets at dinner I had to say “What is this?” because I’d never heard of it. Imagine the Peking Acrobats (and you know how much I loved them) mixed up with modern dance, and that’s sort of what it is. Amazing visually arresting performances that include crazy props. I really can’t even describe it. Take a look at the little video on this page and you’ll see some of the things they did. Some pieces were humorous and others just beautiful and graceful and breathtaking.

Oh, and finally I was able to experience the fantastic hammock by myself today (children were all over it the first two days!).  It was pretty awesome resting in it in the sunshine with a good book, rocking back and forth in the breeze…

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I am enjoying your blog 🙂 We also have chickens and LOVE them. I love your first photo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

