RSS Feed

Baby Chicks!!!!

Posted on

Yesterday the very long awaited event finally happened: one of our own hens hatched out baby chicks!! It was three weeks to the day since she started sitting and when I stuck my head in the coop I heard loud peeping. It was several hours before we saw even a little head peek out of her feathers, but we did! This morning all was frustratingly quiet and no sign of the chicks, but then in the late morning I saw the hen off her nest grabbing something to eat. I could see two chicks in the nest. I didn’t want to get too close and the hen raced back to her nest to protect them (good mother hen!)
i’ll be honest-it has been very hard for me to resist constantly visiting her in hopes of seeing and getting a photo of these chicks. In fact, I’ve been out there a million times. Well good thing I went out there this time because I could hear cheeping from the driveway. I went in the coop and the cheeping was quite loud, but no sign of the chick. Exactly what I was afraid of happening had-the chick fell behind the back wall of the nest and was trapped between it and the outer door! I opened the outside door and picked up the chick and was not going to pass up the opportunity to take one quick picture. I did and then returned him to the safety and warmth of his mama. Here s/he is! Notice his teeny tiny legs are feathered!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. starscraper99

    Cute pic!!

    Reply
  2. I think this makes you a GrandChick!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

