RSS Feed

A Happy Mother’s Day

Posted on

Peony

We’ve had so much excitement the past few weeks between my birthday and Paul’s birthday that for Mother’s Day I told Paul that I really just wanted a nice Sunday afternoon bbq.  And boy, did he (and the weather) deliver!

I slept in crazy late and woke up to a beautifully cleaned kitchen (we left it a big mess after entertaining last night) and homemade waffles.  Then some happy time spent sewing a little zippered bag for my mother. Then, while Paul and Tabby were out at the store, I got to have some idyllic time with Clark-we cozied up in the hammock and I began reading The BFG to him.  It was every bit as delightful as I’d hoped it would be, and he’s really enjoying the story. I don’t have a picture of that, but I do have one from later in the day of my own mother and Tabby.  Look how sweet they look:
Tabby and Grandma in the new hammock
Then my mom joined us and Paul cooked us some wonderful steak and veggies on the grill, followed by homemade brownies and strawberries and whipped cream and angel food cake-yum! It was really a very nice Mother’s day.  I wouldn’t be as good a mother without such a good husband and father to my children.  So, thank you Paul! And thank you to my usually lovely children-I’m so happy you are mine!

And what weekend would be complete without some more staged baby chick photos?
Going places

Going UP

Buffy
Mother Hen is doing great with her babies.
MCA and his brothers
I have a little movie up on Flickr where you can see them eating together and hear her special mother hen sounds that she makes.

Hope you all had a great weekend and Mother’s Day, too!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. The BFG is one of the best books! I think I’m going to pull it out and begin reading it to my kids. They would really enjoy it. Don’t I remember that his soda’s bubbles go down instead of up, causing his burps to come out the back door instead? Funny. I’m glad you had a great mother’s day! Great photos, too.

    Reply
    • Hi Mandy, Frobscottle! Yes, I loved that part too when I was a kid. we’re almost to that part-just read about the disgusting Snozzcumbers that he has to eat.

      Reply
  2. I love the chick in the yellow bucket so cute… it could win a prize 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

