RSS Feed

Rainy Day Ginger Cookies

Posted on

It’s a rainy day here in New Jersey. Note the chickens are all hiding in the garage, while the ducks are still near the chickens, but happily out in the rain enjoying the puddles.

Usually on a Tuesday morning I will madly sew or do other very productive things.  This morning I wanted to bake cookies.  I love baking and it feels like it’s been a while since I baked cookies just for fun, just for me.  I couldn’t find my ginger cookie recipe but was able to search the blog and find the link from last time I made them.  Apparently it’s an Ina Garten recipe I wanted to use.

For your ease, here it is:

Sift together 2 1/4 c flour, 1 t b.s., 2 t cinnamon, 1 1/2 t gr. cloves, 1/2 t nutmeg, 1/2 t gr ginger, 1/4 t kosher salt.
Beat together 1 c dark brown sugar, 1/4 c vegetable oil, 1/3 c molasses.
Slowly beat in 1 egg.  Then slowly beat in the dry ingredients.
Stir in 1 1/4 c chopped crystallized ginger.

Roll in balls. Roll balls in sugar. Slightly flatten. Bake at 350 for 13 minutes.

These came out beautiful-slightly crisp outside, soft inside, and a dark spicy gingery flavor.

I’ve just started reading this lady’s blog and I think she makes some very good points about how much more economical it is to bake from scratch, than to buy. Not to mention your homebaked goods have ingredients that you know and control in them!  I have literally no idea how much it might have cost to bake a batch of ginger cookies, but they are delicious and it was a pleasure to have the house to myself for a little while, the radio on, the rain coming down, and fill the house with the sweet and spicy smell of ginger.

(And then I had to go pick up Tabby from school and find out that she was extremely naughty in class all morning!! Grrr!)

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

