RSS Feed

Memorial Day Weekend-a family reunion!

Posted on

Memorial Day was already a week ago, and we’ve had a busy week, but I haven’t been able to post or keep up due to some computer woes. I’ve had my beloved pink laptop for at least 5 years and it seems that it’s time has come. A new one is on its way and I’ll be backing up all my photo files and moving over to it soon.  So, let’s get caught up!

We started off Memorial Day with our town’s annual parade.  This year, as a Cub Scout, Clark marched in the parade.  We all waved and cheered for him.
Clark marches!
As usual it was very hot.  As usual there were many many fire engines.  While this was a highlight when Clark was 3, I’ll be honest-I found myself less charmed than in years past.  It’s a short parade and I always enjoyed the small town festiveness of the occasion, but this year it seemed that hardly anyone was watching the parade.  Very few people were on our street (it goes down two streets.)  Also, the parade consists of the police bagpipes and drums, which is awesome, a million fire engines, Scouts, senior citizens, and some politicians.  I think we need to get some more people in there, a marching band (need more music!), and how about some animals? There’s tons of horses around here and who wouldn’t like to see some horses clip-clopping along with red, white, and blue rosettes on their manes? There you have it Neshanic-that’s how to spruce up the parade! Anyway, after that we had the scouts back to our house for some ice creams and that was very nice. Then, for the main event!

Both of my brothers were in town for the weekend-one from Vermont and one from Colorado.  The last time all of us were together was Thanksgiving, 2 1/2 years ago, so we were very happy to all be together.  The kids had a blast playing together and we all went to the river to go swimming (we had taken Pippin swimming  just the day before.) It was an inspired idea and we had a great time swimming and wading and floating and playing.  On the menu was grilled honey spicy shrimp (a recipe I’d seen here two months ago and marked to make for this occasion), ribs made in the smoker (Paul made a great rub consisting of:

  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon granulated garlic
  • 1 tablespoon granulated onion (we used grated onion)
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar (I used 1 1/2)
  • 2 tablespoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon white pepper
  • (my addition) 1 tablespoon turmeric,

), hamburgers, salads, and birthday cake.

And here’s the whole family all together:
Formal Family

Back row: Sarah, Paul, Ben, Crissy, Joan (my mom, the matriarch), Anna, Karen, Tim
Front row: Esther, Wylie, Clark, Tabby, Will

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

