RSS Feed

The Chicks at One Month

Posted on

The chicks are now one month old and have changed dramatically since their first fluffball days.
IMG_7955

IMG_7909

IMG_7945
In fact, one might even say they are a little bit ugly now.  Each day we’ve been letting them out into a temporary pen
IMG_7853
and yesterday we made it sturdier and more permanent.  Adjacent to the chicken coop (the chicken coop fence is one wall) we put tall fencing.  Because the holes are about 3″x4″ and they could walk right through we covered the bottom is chicken fencing (which they can’t get through.) We made a sort of gate from strong strong fencing.  Then Paul hammered together a three sided shelter for them, with a bar they could use as a perch.  We were going to be gone all day yesterday and needed someplace safe for them.  When we got home the temperature outside was 58 degrees, which is pretty chilly for them.  They were all asleep in a big heap together.  We scooped them and put them back in the garage in their bin with the heat lamp.

The mother hen is now taking her chicks out and about with the rest of the flock.Presumably these chicks will not have trouble joining the flock since they have their mom and they mingle with the flock already.
IMG_8000
 We are concerned about when we introduce the 22 chicks into the coop.  In case you didn’t know the phrase “pecking order” is a real thing and chickens establish this dominance by pecking the lower ranked chickens. They’ve got another week or two before we’ll be putting them into the coop, though.
Purple and Yellow
In the garden things are going well, though it is a constant and losing battle against the weeds, especially the ones that are like morning glories and keep strangling my plants and apparently come back 2 minutes after I pull them up. My greatest hope is for our plum tree to yield so many plums that I can make all kinds of things with them. Right now the tree is loaded with little green fruits:
Plum tree

In the world of sewing I made two things this week: little zippered bags for gifts for Tabby’s teachers. I think they came out really nicely and I hope they like them.
Teacher Gifts
I think I feel caught up here and back on track now. Though we might do a little project today that I know I will want to post about 🙂

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. THAT FRO!!! Luvz it!

    Reply
  2. Catching up with your blog always makes me so happy! How are the ducks?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

