RSS Feed

Odds n’ Ends

Posted on

I wanted to do a quick post about some odds and ends, though I won’t necessarily have the photos to match. I’ve just gotten a new laptop and have not fully migrated over here yet. So I can share some Flickr photos, but not the newest ones I’ve taken of the chicks. So here’s a category roundup:
The Ducks-Well, whaddaya know? Turns out we don’t have three females-we have one male (a drake) and two females. One of them had been looking different than the other two for a couple of weeks-he’s been getting grayish-whitish feathers on his breast. His head has not turned the distinctive green of a boy mallard yet, but he will be getting that soon enough. Anyway, his sex was confirmed when I saw him trying to mate with one of the girls! That was quite a surprise. I’ve seen the chickens do it hundreds of times and although this shouldn’t have surprised me, I was surprised to see that ducks do it the same way.

The Chickens-The babies are now 5 weeks old and not really babies anymore. Each morning we carry them out to their enclosure, and each evening we carry them back. Frankly, that’s getting to be a drag. Especially because they fly all around. A couple days ago I let them into the big chickens’ coop and they were crazy for it. So the past couple days they’ve been permitted to be in both enclosures. Because the big chickens need to get in out and too,I’ve been not tightly shutting the gate. Yes, this means they sometimes scamper out, but that’s ok. I don’t think they want to go too far and we’ll be letting the loose pretty soon. The question is now, what to do with them at night? I think tonight we will let them stay outside and put a mesh door on their little house.

Sewing-this week Tabby went to “camp”, which was just four days, 2 1/2 hours each day. I decided to use the time to start working on the snowball quilt for my and Paul’s bed. It’s coming along very nicely.
Beginning the snowball quilt!
The Garden-the peas were, frankly, a disappointment this year. My vines just didn’t seem to yield that much. I still have some coming in from a slightly later plant. The new blueberry bushes have yielded 4 delicious berries.
And this one's blue too!
And we’re enjoying the new berry area very much.
A charming new area
We moved a cafe table and chairs over there, and it’s also the location of a craft project we all did over the weekend.
Family Stone

The lilies are blooming now, and they are gorgeous.
and again, orange in front of pink

The Family- Clark only has 7 more days left of school and then it’s officially summer! Just like last year I made a poster where I wrote down activities we could do this summer. I hope we get to do many of them. I have to admit that I don’t get the grumbling over kids being at home during the summer. Sure, my kids can be obnoxious, but it’s like I get to relive fun, relaxing summer vacations all over again. Clark will do one week of nature camp again, but other than that we keep summer free for playing, exploring, being spontaneous, or being lazy. Here’s what’s our my list:
Destinations: Hacklebarney State Park, Round Valley Reservoir, Spruce Run Resevoir, Ocean Grove (and any other beach), Howell Living History Farm, Mine Brook Park, and the Sourlands.
Activities: go bowling, host barbecues, swim in our river, finish reading The BFG and The Secrets of Droon series to Clark, tie-dye t-shirts, attend the local Rotary Club fair, play miniature golf, go canoeing, make jam, run a 5K race, and build a birdhouse. Honestly, it seems like there’s not enough time to do all that!
Here’s a 2 year old summer picture to get you in the mood:
Floating
Tomorrow Tabby and I are attending a very exciting, big deal to me, event. Stay tuned for pictures and updates!
What are you looking forward to doing this summer?

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. I love the idea of listing out your places and activities. At the beginning of the summer it seems like we have all the time in the world to fit things in. Then all of a sudden it’s September by the time we remember what we didn’t get around to doing. The list will help prioritize what’s important enough to fit in, and weed out what isn’t!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

