RSS Feed

Three Little Ducks Went Out to Play…

Posted on

…over the hills and far away
Mother Duck said “Quack, quack, quack!”
two little ducks came swimming back

A rather forlorn song, but all is well at the end when they all come back.  I couldn’t stop thinking of that song on Friday because on Thursday a sad thing happened–when we got home at night (we had taken Clark out to the movies while Tabby was at her first sleepover) and went to lock up the chickens and ducks, we found only 2 ducks in their house.  The third was missing and we didn’t know if she flew off or had just been eaten, but we rather assumed she’d been eaten.

Well…..early this evening the third duck returned!!! We don’t know where she was or what she was doing, but she just showed up in the coop, waiting for her friends.  Who preceded to rudely fly around on their evening flight while she loudly quacked at them from the ground.  They finally landed and everyone was reunited. Phew!! I wonder what adventures she was having??? Did she get separated and lost? Want a little vacation? She seemed pretty happy when I fetched her some cracked corn and water.

In other poultry news we dismantled the chicks temporary outside coop and tonight put them all in the big coop.  They were not happy about that (we waited until the big ones were asleep and the chicks were also sleepy), but did settle down.  The real trouble will be in the morning when the big ones wake up and see the little ones there.  That’s when pecking order will be established with, you guessed it, pecking!

I’ve got lots to catch up on-food, sewing, Father’s Day, but that can wait for tomorrow.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I’m glad to hear your adventurous duck returned!

    I came on here expressly to give you a book recommendation, if you haven’t already seen it:

    “Free Range Chicken Gardens: How to create a beautiful, chicken-friendly yard” by Jessi Bloom. It’s a gorgeous book. I thought of you as soon as I saw it!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for the recommendation! I haven’t heard of that book and will definitely get it. You know, I gave up on planting things from seed and have definitely had to change around my gardening approach since having the free range birds. Yesterday I saw the ducks nibbling away at the hosta, but I didn’t even care because the hosta is so huge.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

