RSS Feed

Going Solar!

Posted on

Well, my goodness I am tickled at how many of you enjoyed my recent post! Thank you for all the nice comments and emails.  I really love the quote from Teddy Roosevelt that was shared: “Comparison is the thief of joy.” It is indeed something I struggle with and am going to strive to remember.  And, in positive news, I have thought of ever so many delicious things to do with the syrupy blueberry jam: drizzled atop a pavlova, swirled throughout a coffee cake, poured on top of vanilla ice cream, blended into homemade ice cream, served on top of pancakes or waffles, a few drops in seltzer, and of course, on a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.
Here’s something exciting that happened at our house today:

Almost a year ago we decided to finally go ahead and get solar panels.  We looked into it years ago but it was just too expensive and impractical for us.  But now there are leasing options and last summer we decided to do it.  Due to a bunch of reason they did not actually install the panels until last month, and it was not until today that we had the go ahead to turn the whole system on.  We need to be come more adept at reading the monitoring system, but so far we can tell that on this first day the panels collected? generated? 12 kilowatts in 7 hours.  According to recent JCPL bills, we typically use 28, so in less than a full day (we didn’t turn it on until noon) we generated half of our daily usage!  I’m really hoping this works out for us.  Realistically we don’t believe that we will be saving a lot of money, but we anticipated spending a bit less than we already do per month, plus it’s good for the environment. And that’s good enough for us!

Today was day 3 of a heat wave. The chickens are laying around with their beaks open, the dog is staying inside, and we’ve got the air conditioning on.  And yet…it has felt so wonderfully summery to be outside around 8 o’clock or so, hanging out with the chickens and ducks, petting them and feeding them, and checking on the garden.

Doesn’t this evening sunlight just look hot?

The bees and butterflies are going cuckoo for the coneflowers and today I saw a new-to-me butterfly:

I did do another crafty project this morning (pictures and story to come, after it’s totally done) and I’m sure you’ll be pleased to know that it involved being irritated with the children and me saying, “FOR ONCE I am working on something myself first and THEN I will help you!!” 🙂

And in case you are wondering how week 2 of summer vacation held up…Tabby got to go to a library kick off program, Tabby had a sleepover and spent the day with her grandmother, Clark spent an entire day being sick a high fever, I took Clark miniature golfing, and we swam at friends’ houses.  This weekend was crammed with three birthday parties, and entertaining our game night friends on Saturday night.  This upcoming week is a big one–Clark’s 7th birthday!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

