RSS Feed

Happy 4th of July!!

Posted on

Many years ago when I was a teenager I made myself a flag t-shirt using some puffy glitter fabric paint pens. I loved that shirt and wore it on every 4th until it was too holey to wear.  I decided to have some fabric paint fun and make myself a new shirt this year.  Here’s how I did it:

Masking tape would have been the easiest stencil, but we didn’t seem to have any.  My paper made stencil worked out just fine.  I dabbed on the paint and later added glittery silver paint for the stars.And here I am wearing it now:

And here’s the original shirt in action (late 80s? 1990?). This is me and my friend, Perri on the 4th of July which, coincidentally, is her birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, PERRI! (and don’t be mad at me for putting up this picture-you look adorable in it.)

Now put on some Sousa and make a red, white, and blue dessert for today! (I am making a lemonade cake, which I will make look like a flag with the standard arrangement of strawberries and blueberries on it.)

p.s. Check out the photo mosaic of a flag I made over on Flickr! http://www.flickr.com/photos/58067032@N06/7441314644/in/set-72157630284517048

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

