RSS Feed

Happy Birthday, Clark!

Posted on

Today Clark turned 7!! In our family we open gifts at breakfast and he was so excited he woke up at 6am. Paul managed to keep him occupied until 6:30, but he could wait no longer and I had to get up. He was a very happy birthday boy:

I'm so excited it's my birthday!!

During the day we visited Paul at work and went out to lunch, watched tv, played video games, and played with new gifts. It was so hot out that we didn’t even bother trying to do any fun outside things.  My mother joined us for the birthday dinner. Clark’s requested menu was macaroni and cheese and peas and carrots. Delicious and simple.  This year is the first time we are not hosting one of our kids’ parties.  Instead it will be out at a place, which means they take care of the standard cake and pizza. He desperately wanted this, but the one thing worrying him was whether or not he’d still get a special Mom made cake. I assured him I would still make one and the laser tag party was on.  This year’s cake was Kirby-from the Wii game Kirby’s Epic Yarn (which we got at Christmas and remains his most favorite game.) Kirby is a pretty straightforward looking character-pink yarn outlines him.  So I used white frosting and then piped on the “yarn”, and made the eyes out of chocolate chips that I melted and smoothed into shape, and the white were made from marshmallow.  I think it’s a pretty good likeness!
Kirby's Epic Birthday Cake


And Clark loved it.

Making a wish

Happy Birthday, Clark! We love you ever so much!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CLARK!!! It sounds like it was a great day, capped off with a truly awesome cake. (And I can’t believe he’s seven.)

    Reply
  2. Sounds like a wonderful birthday! And a great cake too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

