RSS Feed

Blueberry Cake

Posted on

Making Blueberry Cake
It’s been a little while since I did a post about baking or something I cooked, so I thought I’d write about the dessert we had last night.  Yesterday morning I was sitting at the breakfast table thinking about all the blueberries we still have and my eye was caught by an old cookbook my mom gave me- Homemade Bread by the Food Editors of Farm Journal.  The copyright date is 1969.  Now, there is actually not a lot to make fun of in this old book.  The recipes are pretty terrific, it’s just the little write ups that go with them that are funny.  Particularly the section on waffles and how they are so ideal for every occasion.  “When a friend telephones late in the afternoon that she and her husband are coming over to spend the evening, one of the first thoughts most women have is: What shall I serve for refreshments?  It’s a good time to remember waffles.  There’s something very sociable about them–sitting around the table, talking and watching the golden waffles come piping hot off the grids.  Even if supplies in the cupboard and freezer are at low ebb, almost always you have what it takes to make exciting Gingerbread Waffles.” And I’ll be darned if the following recipe did not look delicious!  But since I was in the market to make something with blueberries, I found a nice looking coffee cake/dessert recipe for German Blueberry Kuchen.  It did not have a particularly funny write up, so you’ll just have to go with my story of it 🙂  This is a delightful simple cake, easily put together at almost 5:30pm and enjoyed warm for dessert. Here’s the recipe (with thanks to “The Ohio farm woman who shares with you her recipe for Blueberry Kuchen.”)

Sift together 1 1/2 c flour, 2 t baking powder, 1/2 t salt, and 3/4 c sugar.  Add 1/4 c soft shortening (I used butter), 2/3 c milk, 1 t vanilla, and 1/2 t grated lemon peel.  Beat with electric mixer for 3 minutes.
Add 1 egg and beat 2  more minutes.
Turn into a greased 8×8 pan.
Lightly stir together 1 c fresh blueberries, 3 T sugar, and 1 t grated lemon peel.  Sprinkle over batter in pan.
Bake at 350 degrees 40-45 minutes.
I served it with confectioners’ sugar dusted over the top.
Blueberry kuchen
Not too heavy, this was buttery, lemony, and filled with good sweet blueberry flavor.  I’ll be turning to the old time ladies of the Farm Journal for some more recipes!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. The cake itself looks delicious but I could sit around reading those funny descriptions all day long! Enjoy your cookbook, it’s a keeper!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

