RSS Feed

A Celebration, A Garden Event, and New Additions

Posted on

Well my goodness we have had an exciting few days!  I’m going to leave my post about the canning I did last week for later and instead write about the events of Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.

On Saturday my cousin George was getting married in Rhode Island. He’s the last of my cousins to get married and it was exciting to have it be a bit of a destination.  Exciting also that the kids were having sleepovers with friends in our hometown so we got to take the road trip just me and Paul.  My brother from Vermont was there, though my Denver brother was not.  All the other cousins were there and it was just so much fun to all be together for such a happy occasion. The location was wonderful-way deep in a pine tree forest in front of a lake.  We cut our arrival incredibly close and so didn’t have time for wandering at all, which was a shame.  My only regret is that I didn’t get the opportunity to take good photographs of the natural setting (much less the wedding itself-with my fancy camera I don’t have a good zoom, and I just couldn’t get a handle on the lighting-very overcast and dim.)  The ceremony itself was intimate and beautiful and after we went inside for a cocktail hour on the covered porch it began to pour torrential buckets! It was all very cozy and fun.  Then dinner and dancing and drinking and good time. Here’s me and Paul:
Paul and Sarah
And here we are with the newlyweds and all my other cousins and their spouses:

On Sunday we came home just in time to receive visitors.  One of my oldest friends and her family were visiting family so they were able to come over for a while.  It happens to have been balloon festival weekend, so just before sunset we had a nice view of many balloons rising into the air.
Balloon Ascent
But even better than that was….hummingbirds!  When we planted the butterfly garden originally we were choosing plants thinking about butterflies and also hummingbirds, though it ended up really being all about the butterflies.  We have seen a hummingbird once each summer, which was very exciting.  Well this time it appeared to possibly be two hummingbirds-a male and female. They visited the hummingbird feeder, the coneflowers, and the butterfly bush. Not only that but they hovered and then we also saw them a few times actually perching! First on the bushes, then on an electrical wire.  We also saw them repeatedly returning to the same spot in a very nearby tree.  I hope they are making this their home and will continue to visit the garden.  It was really the most exciting backyard birder moment ever for us. In this picture below the hummingbird is perched in the butterfly bush near the top of the photo.
Hummingbirds in the Garden!

You may remember that one of Clark’s birthday gifts was the promise of something he had to wait for? Well, today was the day! We got guinea pigs! Our friend had the baby guinea pigs sexed and they were ready to leave their mother, so we had our choice of two. Yes, two. Because Tabby so badly wanted one of them (we had seen the babies quite a bit because we took care of them for a while) and we thought two would be happy together and so she is getting a very early birthday present. Welcome Blackie and Nibbles! (And yes, we had a chicken named Blackie. I think Clark is sticking with that, though.)
Meet the Piggies
Aren’t they so cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute? I know it probably seems like we have a million animals, but honestly the chickens hardly count. Lots people have nice sized flocks of chickens, and they are outdoors. We love them, but they are not very cuddly. And a dog and two cats is totally normal, too. And I had guinea pigs when I was younger and absolutely adored my beloved Pig and Daisy. So I’m pretty excited that we are adding these girls to the household. And I’m delighted by how excited the kids are, too.
Meet the Piggies

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I’m looking especially forward to the pigs dressed up in cute outfits and hats!! As well as involved in adorable adventures!!

    Reply
    • I told Tabby, “now don’t go dressing them up in your doll clothes.” and then immediately and hypocritically thought, “hmm…I would like to do that.”

      Reply
  2. What an exciting weekend all around! Weddings, couple-travel, hummingbirds, balloons and guinea pigs. Can’t beat that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

