RSS Feed

I’m as Corny as Kansas in August

Posted on

Corn Salsa

This morning I made and canned corn salsa. I used this recipe and halved it.  That was a good sized batch-I got 10 1/2 pint jars out of it, which I did in two batches.  Although most of the ingredients did not come from my garden, I did buy local tomatoes and corn (if you live in New Jersey especially you really should only be eating Jersey corn and tomatoes. We are the Garden State!)  I had 2 1/2 tiny red hot peppers (I forget what kind) that I minced up fine and put in.  The end result was not especially spicy at all but I totally “burned” my hand on them. Ouch!
I’m thrilled when not all of it fits into my jars because then I get to taste some right away. I took the leftovers and spread them on a tortilla, sprinkled with cheddar, and popped under the broiler.
Tasting the leftovers-verdict: delicious
A very tasty lunch! (And won’t it be nice to have that lunch with its flavors of summer some winter afternoon? Or maybe for a movie night in December make a nice plate of nachos using this?) Between the making and the tasting I had kind of forgotten that it wouldn’t taste like my usual type of salsa because this is made with vinegar and sugar. So the end result is a spicy, sweet, and sour corn and tomato salsa.

cherry tomatoes
I also picked even more cherry tomatoes this morning and added them to the others I had. As promised, they were roasted, tossed with fresh basil, and then put into the freezer. Won’t that be delicious tossed with pasta in January? Or perhaps spread on top of pizza dough with some asiago cheese?
The tomatoes after roasting
I like canning and preserving summer’s produce so much because I like to think of future me enjoying it. And I will!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. The whole process of putting food by is always all about imagining how cozy and fun it will be to eat it in the wintertime, isn’t it? I love that. Being all sweltering in the kitchen on a 90 degree day and the canner going full-bore, but thinking about chilly November nights, and dinners when it’s dark early.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

