RSS Feed

The First Egg (this time around)

Posted on

One of the babies (which I guess we can’t call them that anymore) just laid its first egg!! I thought we wouldn’t see that for maybe 2 more months, but it is definitely one of the new chickens. How do I know? Well, I found it on the ground next to the coop. But mainly because it’s GREEN!!

None of the breeds we ordered are the kinds that lay the colored eggs, so I can only assume that our “free exotic chick” included with each Murray McMurray order happens to have been one. How exciting for us!

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. How fun! Congrats! That’s an Ameraucana egg, did Murray McMurray actually consider an Ameraucana to be an exotic? Really? I would think they would be more generous than that! Oh well, I love my Ameraucanas, some of my best layers.

    Reply
    • Well, I think the “free exotic chick” is actually “an extra chick will be added to your box-whatever we have around that day”. We had been going to order Ameraucanas but they were not available during the week we were getting them. Looking at pictures of Ameraucanas I swear it does not look like we have one. I’m wondering if it’s one of the other kinds.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

