RSS Feed

Blue Ribbon at the County Fair!!

Posted on

The Winning Apron
I’ll just get right to it before filling in any backstory–I won two blue ribbons at the Middlesex County Fair!! I have pretty much never won anything before (that is a slight lie–but this is the first time I’ve won anything for something I’ve made or done) so I was wildly excited about this.  I’ve also never entered a county fair before so I was out of proportion nervous about it.  It was free to enter and you didn’t have to be county resident to enter, and there are many, many categories.  Our county fairs are all different (more on that later) and this one really does have a big Home Arts exhibition/competition.  I figured I had nothing to lose and entered 5 photographs, one apron, and one quilt.  Both of my sewing projects got first place in their extremely specific categories.
Me and My Blue Ribbon Winning Quilt
Now, not to diminish my winning, but in all honesty, there did not seem to be a lot of sewing entries.  I think there probably were 4 aprons.  But that’s ok, this was one of my very best and I think it could have won in a bigger field, too.  I’m really pleased about the quilt because it is not the fanciest of designs, but relies a lot on the color and pattern arrangement for its beauty.  I wasn’t sure that would win judges over.  Again, not sure that the entry field was very large, but who cares?

As for the photographs, well, I got nothing. Not even an honorable mention.  Truthfully I didn’t think most of them would, but there were two I had high hopes for.  One was in the Portrait (Animal) category, for which I submitted this.  The other was for the Nature (Flora) category, for which I submitted this.  I thought a lot about the Flora category because I have tons of beautiful, well lit, close-ups of various flowers.  I thought everyone would do that and the dill choice might be more of an unusual standout. Lesson learned-the winning one was a single bloom closeup that, and I’m being honest here, not sour grapes, was ok but I’ve definitely got better ones.

Next year I’ll definitely enter in sewing and photography again, and possibly canning and/or baked goods. I’d love to see the kids enter stuff, too.  There are so many kids’ crafts and creations and projects. Basically, if you can make it they’ll display it.

So why did I go to a different county fair for this? Well, the county we live in has a very different style fair. It’s a straight up 4H Fair and has no rides or midway.  It has way more animals and is, well, more 4H based.  I love our fair and have been going every year since I was a child.  I hope they never change it (i.e., no rides) and am happy to see that this year the poultry tent had many more entries than last year.  By comparison, the Middlesex County fair only had one tent for all “small animals.”  And yet, our fair doesn’t do the home arts competition. So we’ll continue to enjoy both 🙂 And enjoy ourselves we did:
Wheeee!

Snow Cone treats

Me and my blue ribbon winning apron!!
It was a grand day!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Wow, congratulations! Our county fair has been cancelled due to budget cuts since we moved six years ago, so I haven’t thought much about fairs in years.mbut this is so neat! I was in 4H (Busy Bobbins) as a kid and entered some sewn items back when, but I’d forgotten about it. I even participated in a 4H fashion show once! 🙂 Anyway, your apron and quilt are deserving winners! I’m so happy for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

