RSS Feed

Checking in on the Caterpillars

Posted on

still there, still growing
I just can’t get enough of checking on our swallowtail butterfly caterpillars. I swear they look bigger than they did two days ago. They are all still clustered on the dill plant and today I witnessed one of them chewing. I also can’t get over how they hold on so well with their nubby little feet.
Check out his grip on a blade of grass

The garden is still producing about a pint of cherry tomatoes a day, and the tomatilloes are finally ripening, too. And usually 1-3 hot peppers is ready each day as well.
Tomato Tomatillo
I look at this and think “world’s tastiest salsa!”, but I don’t feel like canning it. I just want to gobble it up with chips and an avocado. Hmm…maybe that’s what I’ll do….

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Love your caterpillars! I always get so excited when I get caterpillars, but it seems like the birds and predatory wasps always find the nice ones. 😦

    Reply
    • Yes, I’m hoping that nothing eats them up. I had to shoo a chicken out of the garden where they are. Just checked out your blog and it’s great!

      Reply
      • Yeah, but I guess it is natural selection in some cases…as cruel as it may seem to us. I regularly see predatory wasps scouring the leaves of plants in my garden for juicy goodies…at least I don’t have to do the dirty work, I guess. Lol. Glad you enjoyed the blog–thanks for taking a look! :]

Leave a Reply

