RSS Feed

C is for Cookie

Posted on

Now that it’s school time I’m thinking about packing lunches when I go grocery shopping. In the cookie/cracker aisle last week I stalled and thought, “I don’t really want to buy any of this.” I do usually buy graham crackers or Nilla wafers, but I thought I love to bake and why don’t I just bake up a couple of batches of cookies and put them directly in the freezer and then when I want to tuck one or two into a lunch bag I’ve got them handy. Surely that’s more economical and tastier than store bought things, right? (I mentioned this to my friend who replied that she just doesn’t ever give her kid cookies for lunch. Which I suppose is even more economical and healthier, but I say a cookie in your lunchbag is a nice treat.) With that in mind this afternoon I made sugar cookies and chocolate cookies.
Sugar Cookies & Chocolate Cookies
I was going to make ginger cookies as well, but I used up all my crystallized ginger in making a peach ginger cake. Technically I was following the recipe for Pear Ginger Bread, but I used our fresh peaches which are now perfectly peak ripe and juicy, and I baked a small little loaf and a round tin as a cake. So in addition to the cookies I’ve also got a nice cake in the freezer for some future winter day when it will be well enjoyed.
Peach-Ginger Cake

It felt good to get a nice big batch of baking done!  I’ve still got a few peaches left. Now what to do with them?? Actually, Tabby was so enamored of the jar that didn’t seal that we ate that I cut up a fresh peach today and gave it a little squirt of the vanilla simple syrup and she loved it.  Of course, we could just gobble them up as is!

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Not only are the home baked cookies more economical and tastier, they’re worlds healthier than anything you can buy in the store!!! Even if you eat the whole plate before they see the lunchboxes. Oh, wait, sorry. That would be me eating the whole plate! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Elizabeth! Yes, no wacky ingredients or chemicals, just straightforward things that I know what they are. (And yes, I know my family has too much white sugar and white flour and it’s the devil and all that, but oh my does it taste good 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

