RSS Feed

And thus ends the harvest

Posted on

This morning I picked the last of the tomatillos and finally made some nice salsa verde.  I’ve got three half pint jars ready to warm up a winter night.  How wonderful will it be, say on New Year’s Eve, to make some nachos and pop open a jar of this lovely green salsa? The flavors of summer-cilantro, peppers, and tomatillos-will burst out!
Salsa Verde

There are no more tomatoes in the garden, the giant squash bed only yielded one tiny squash that some creature chewed on the end of, and I don’t think we’ll be getting any nice winter crops. (You know, I swear I planted carrot seeds. What happened to them??) I do have 5 Nardello peppers still ripening-they are big and beautiful, but not yet orange.  There are a couple of tiny hot peppers still out there too, but for now the garden is a simply a host to the morning glories
Morning Light
and open again to the chicken public. Who are enjoying themselves immensely:

Speaking of morning glories, yesterday afternoon I had the wonderful surprise of seeing a hummingbird in them!! It flitted from one blossom to the next before flying away right past me.  It let me be surprisingly close and I could see its iridescent green body very well.  About an hour later I had another close encounter with a bird in the same spot-this time a hawk.  I had raced outside to find out why the chickens were squawking and while standing in the driveway looking around a hawk swooped past me (at about head height!) across the driveway, across the garden, and to my neighbor’s backyard. I could see it so well that it was very exciting.

We had Back to School Night last night and got to meet Clark’s teacher. She seems really terrific and we’re very excited. When we got home and said to Clark that we met her and liked her he gushed, “Isn’t she great?!”, which was so cute. From their bulletin board here’s his contribution.
IMG_2991
The paper to the left is an “all about me” type of thing. Under “Things I Like” he had written “Wii, Legos, Cheese” and under “Things I Don’t Like” he had written “White Cheese”. Apparently they wrote these on the day I had made him a turkey and white American cheese sandwich for lunch. On the other hand, those cookies I made the other day? He told me he simply couldn’t resist eating the chocolate cookie at snack before lunch because he knew they would be so good 🙂 And that warmed my heart.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Charlton Estate Trust

    well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

