RSS Feed

Pineapple Lemon Marmalade

Posted on

Trying it out on toast
I am loving this Small Batch Preserving book, especially the marmalade chapter. It had never occurred to me to make a pineapple jam/marmalade, but once I saw the recipe I knew I had to try it.  All you need is 1 fresh pineapple and 2 lemons (plus water and sugar.)
All you need: a pineapple, 2 lemons, sugar, and water
This cooks for quite a long time-no pectin is added so you’re cooking until it gets a nice gel.  Right towards the end it suddenly turned from a regular pineapple yellow to a beautiful rich darker amber color.
Result: a beautiful amber color
And the smell was heavenly!
All labeled up
I used my tiny 4oz jars and was delighted they came with labels.  These are all ready for little hostess or Christmas gifts-if we can bear to part with them, that is. (A couple jars do have some lemon seeds in them-maybe those are the ones not to give away!) We made toast and tried out the leftovers.  The kids went nuts over it. It was like a sweet and sticky pineapple juice and totally delicious.
Clark gave it an enthusiastic 2 thumbs up

From The Complete Book of Small Batch Preserving by Ellie Topp and Margaret Howard:

Put the zest of 2 lemons into a large stainless steel or enamel pot. Remove the rest of the white rind and seeds. Put the lemons and 2 cups of chopped cored peeled fresh pineapple (about 1/2 of a pineapple) into a food processor and chop finely. Add to the pot along with 2 1/2 c water. Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat, and boil gently for 20 minutes (stir often.)

Add 3 sugar to the pot, return to boil and boil rapidly, uncovered, until mixture forms a gel, about 35 minutes. Stir it often!

Ladle into hot jars and process for 10 minutes in a boiling water bath.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

