RSS Feed

Felt + Embroidery=iPad cover!

Posted on

Through a surprising circumstance we received an iPad in the mail a couple of days ago. Such an unexpected surprise was it that it had actually been sitting unopened for a couple of weeks in the hallway. You can imagine, then, that when I opened it up I saw an iPad inside I shrieked with excitement.  I think iPads are awesome but we really truly had no sincere need for one and were never planning on buying one. But hey, since we have one, we will certainly enjoy it. I wanted to bring it with me right away to enjoy while waiting during Tabby’s dance class, but was worried about it getting scratched in my purse, or damaged from the magnetic closure.  Clearly this called for a sewing project!!

Two pieces of felt would make a simple envelope for it and since I was already cutting out many little birds for Christmas ornaments, I decided to just use that same design.
Starting an ipad case
I had fun snipping out tiny leaves and stitching them on, then making the branch bloom with French knots.
Finished! Felt iPad cover

I machine stitched the sides together and pinked the edges, then sewed on a cool toggle button I found in my button box and made a little loop for it.

Finished! Felt iPad cover
This may not protect the iPad from being dropped, but it will certainly keep it from getting scratched up around the house or in a bag. Plus, it’s pretty. Oh, and it did occur to me to embroider “Tweet” by the bird, even though I’m not much of a Twitter user, but eh. My bird is remaining peacefully mute.
Finished! Felt iPad cover

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. This is lovely! I recieved an ipad as a gift and I use it SO much more than I ever anticipated. It is just so handy. Have fun with yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

