RSS Feed

Crafting Up a Storm

Posted on

heh heh. See what I did there? Because I’ve been crafting and a hurricane is coming?  See?

So, Hurricane Sandy is headed our way and we are as prepared as we can be. I find it disheartening that the authorities are saying we will definitely lose power.  We’ll just have to wait and see for how long.  It’s very strange because out and about yesterday there were long gas lines and it seemed rather end of world panicky. And yet…the weather is still fine enough to play outside-just grey and cloudy. It seems most likely that the school Halloween parties and parades and school itself will be cancelled on Tuesday and/or Wednesday and probably no one will go trick or treating on Wednesday. And yet….I still have to finish making our costumes because we can’t not be ready. It’s a very strange waiting feeling.

In the meantime, I’ve been doing a good job of being more sewing productive.  I made TWO kitschy barbecue aprons in one day this week, although they still need straps.  Then I whipped up a little apron for Tabby.  I may try to make a couple more child size aprons like this to offer at the craft fair.
Meow! An Apron for Tabby
I’ve also really been enjoying working on the felt ornaments.
Crafting in Progress
I branched out and did a couple that do not have birds.  A tree on a heart with gold metallic thread decorating it, and a simple peace, which I think looks really nice as all the letters are daintily stitched on.

Tree with metalllic thread

peace-every letter stitched on.

In the chicken coop it turns out that we have way too many roosters. Both Mystery Chick and Big Silk have revealed themselves to be boys. So now we’ve got Mother Hen’s two boys, the little Mille Fleur, Big Silk, Mystery, plus our original Rainbow Rooster and the head honcho guy-the black and white one. One of the Buff Orpington’s injured her leg, though we’re not sure how. She way lying down to eat, unable to bear weight on one leg, had a droopy tail and did not look good. I could not see a wound or break or anything and there didn’t seem to be a lot to do for her (except carry her in to the coop and hand feed her.) I’m happy to report that although she is still limping quite a bit, her tail is perkier and she is moving around the yard with the others. I’m sure a predator could still get her, but am hopeful she’ll recover. Also, Quicksilver has now laid 3 eggs! They look so tiny when you pick them up, but when I cracked it next to a regular size egg the difference didn’t seem so great.
Egg Comparison
Halloween might be on its way to being ruined, but that hasn’t stopped us from decorating. I made a new Frankenstein tea light jar.
Boo!
And tested out a recipe that I planned on making for Tabby’s class party (now likely not to happen.) I hesitate to say that I saw this on Pinterest, in fact to even make this, because I feel like Pinterest is the lazy man’s Google and that people are marveling at stuff like it didn’t exist before when it most certainly did-it’s just that you never bothered to search around on the internet and read blogs for crafty and cooking ideas. So that’s my little Pinterest rant. This is still a very cute idea;

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

6 responses »

  1. I enjoy Pinterest. Who cares where you find it as long as it’s something you like? And if you find it in a simpler manner than you found it in the past, all the better! But, here’s the million dollar question, what is it? 🙂

    Reply
    • I know, it’s totally snotty of me! I think it’s because I know so many people who never looked at anything online before and are now marveling at craft projects and recipes. p.s. I’m dying to make your cabbage and noodles recipes, though a whole stick of butter gives me pause. (Only a tiny pause-it sounds delicious. And my husband’s family is Polish, so perhaps I can claim that I’m making it to honor his heritage.)

      Reply
      • Yeah, it’s not the healthiest of recipes, that’s for sure. You can definitely get away with much less butter. Of course it’s not quite as good that way so I’d go with the Polish heritage thing instead!

  2. Thinking about you with the storm coming – hope all is well. The weather here in
    England is beautiful!

    Reply
  3. The storm is supposed to hit here in Ohio too, but obviously not as badly as where you are! Stay safe and have fun with the kids home – I’ll be sending good thoughts your way!

    Reply
  4. Sending hopes for minimal storm disruption in your lives! I love Tabby’s apron – I bet those would sell well! And I just adore those ornaments. It’s been a few years since we actually put up our xmas tree, but I do love to admire ornaments, especially handmade ones that are as beautiful as these. The gold stitching on the xmas tree one you showed is just lovely! I so admire your hand-stitching – so neat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

