RSS Feed

A Week of Sewing (& Poultry Stories, too!)

Posted on

While the power was out it was easy to while away time doing embroidery and finishing up my felt ornaments. Technically they are not actually finished as I have to back them, which I will do today.  But in the meantime here are 14 seasonal decorations for my craft fair table:
All finished
And some close-ups.
Green..Peace

Merry, Merry!

SHalom
I’ve gotten busy with Christmas aprons, too.  Here’s an adorable Santa print one:
Holly Jolly Santa apron
And I’m about to finish up another one that I’m exceptionally pleased with.  Check out the pleated trim I made for the hem:
Christmas windows apron
As for the chickens, they have had an exciting week post-storm. They love all the cut up logs and pecking away at bugs under the bark.
Wood, glorious firewood
The pullets have started laying for good so now we are getting 6 or 7 eggs a day.
And some of them are the little banties’, which means we now get tiny white eggs in addition to our big brown ones.
A day's yield

IMG_2206
It’s a beautiful variety. And it seems that the flower pot in the garage is not just for tiny birds, as this Buff Orpington has managed to snugly fit herself into it, too.
Peek a Boo Buffy

Now, on to the best poultry news. As you know, we know longer have our ducks. The ladies left a while ago and Tom a few weeks ago. We were fairly certain he had left for greener pastures, not been eaten. I was worried that another flock of ducks wouldn’t accept a male, though. Well, the day after the hurricane we were cautiously driving around and at the little stream/river where the shaggy cars are who should we see but…
Tom, Jerry, & Sally: Lost and Found
TOM! Jerry! Sally!! Now, it’s possible that these three are not them, but this stream is merely 1/4 mile as the crow (or duck, as the case may be) flies, so it makes sense that they would have found duck friends. And as for my worries about fitting in with other males..
Tom, Jerry, & Sally: Lost and Found
There were many of them! We were so excited we pulled the car over and I got out and yelled Tom! Tom! and he looked up at us. Yes, I did scare them away and they flew off but that’s ok. On a sad day it made us all really happy to see our ducks had found a duck home.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. First of all, I’m so excited you’ve got good egg production again! The array of sizes and colors is so delightful. And speaking of delightful, that Santa apron is the best. I love it!!

    Reply
  2. So, so glad you all made it through OK – sorry about the treehouse – I hope the kids get Paul to build them another one! My brother and sister and cousins and I practically lived in ours when we were kids.
    Also, I think it’s awesome that your ducks ran off to join a commune – glad you got to say “Hi!” to them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

