RSS Feed

Egg Overload!

Posted on

I’ve mentioned before that all the hens are laying quite well now and we get between 5 and 9 each day.  The tiniest hen, Quicksilver, is the one who started laying in a flower pot in the garage and now many of the bigger hens lay there as well.  The past couple of days there weren’t many tiny eggs so I thought “hmm…where could they be laying??” A mere slight turn of my head revealed the answer:
Sneaky Egg Layers
I don’t know how I hadn’t noticed this large collection of eggs on the garage floor!  I assumed they weren’t more than 3 days old and still good to use.  My sister in law put the idea of angel food cake in my head and so I made one for us today.  I’ve always used a box mix for this before because who has a dozen egg whites laying around to toss in a cake?  Well, I did. I cracked them all, plus  two more, about 16 or 17  in total I think, to get 1 1/4 cup egg whites.
A lof of little eggs to crack
Of course, the most fun part of making an angel food cake is hanging it upside down on a bottle when you take it out of the oven.
The most fun part of making an angel food cake
It was a little shorter than I expected it to be-I probably could have beaten the whites a little stiffer. However, the flavor was delicate and delicious. Thanks, hens!
The finished cake

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. I wish we were still getting that many eggs… our ladies are molting and we went from 7-8 to 2 if that a day. Your cake looks good 🙂

    Reply
  2. Lucky you getting so many eggs, of 9 hens I have 5 in various states of molting and one who wants to be broody. I am lucky right now to get one egg a day.

    Reply
  3. Yes, we are lucky right now-old hens still laying, new ones freshly laying. Last winter we were only getting an occasional egg, so it’s nice to be back to getting a lot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

