RSS Feed

A Flurry of Excitement

Posted on

You know good things sometimes seem to happen all at once? Likewise bad things? We’ve had a run of not-so-great luck in our household lately, so yesterday and today have been banner days and some very nice positive feelings are overflowing.
Christmas Main Street
First, Sunday night we enjoyed the Flemington Holiday Parade.  Evidently it’s an annual event but this was our first time attending, which we did because Clark’s Cub Scout pack was riding in a float.  There were lots of floats, the marching band, color guard, music, costumes, and all the Girl Scout troops marched dressed up like some sort of holiday item (gingerbread men, candy canes, gifts, etc.)  It was festive, fun, and adorable. I especially enjoyed the Mummers:
Mummers! (the highlight of the parade for me!)

Then yesterday began with my first paid photography shoot. A friend recommended me to her friend and showed her the guinea pig and chick pictures I had done. The customer had 4 dogs that she wanted pictures of for her Christmas cards. The dogs were adorable and I got some great shots, and she was very pleased.
IMG_3071

IMG_3015

And then I promoted that on Facebook and lots of people were and interested and it was all very exciting. At the end of the summer one of my goals was to get started on a small sideline of photography-thinking very much of taking pictures of children for Christmas cards. I did one sample shoot, but life got in the way. I feel like this was an unexpected kick start and hope to do more now that I’ve put myself out there.
Then, late last night as I was on my way to bed, I discovered….I made my first Etsy sale! Now, I’ve got seven custom orders for the holidays that I’ve been working on (and finished two yesterday, which was very satisfying), but they are all for people who are, if not friends, at least acquaintances. It is extremely gratifying to have had a stranger admire and buy something I created. I know that selling my aprons is not going to be a lucrative sideline, but that’s ok. I love sewing and playing with fabrics and much like when you like to bake but can’t eat everything yourself so you keep bringing your stuff into work this allows me to continue sewing and at least not have the hobby cost me anything. So, I’m feeling pretty great about my Etsy shop, my blog, and my photos (hey, I even garnered some votes in a little guinea pig picture of the month contest!)
And last, but not least, I made a kick ass taco dinner last night and opened the first jar of the corn salsa I made this summer. It was tangy and delicious.
Digging into the canning
OLE!

p.s. haven’t found any little eggs for 3 days now. Where are they laying??? Two days in a row someone laid an egg in the bike trailer.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. The dog pics you took are so awesome! I can’t imagine getting FOUR dogs to all sit still at the same time, let alone all looking at you and being so adorable! Well done all around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

