RSS Feed

Resolutions and Goals for 2013

Posted on

Mr. Snowman

This weekend we took down the tree and the decorations and the house feels clean and ready for a fresh new year. I’d say it feels uncluttered and fresh, but that’s never happening at our house. Whenever we put the decorations away and are wrapping up the ornaments I can’t help but wonder what my life will be like the next time I unwrap them.  It will be a whole year away-the kids will be older and who knows what our lives will be like? Hopefully Paul will be at a job he likes, hopefully we’ll all be happy and healthy.  Of course, I read a lot of sad novels so I couldn’t help but think “oh my God what if next year when we unwrap these there will have been a terrible tragedy and our family can hardly bear to celebrate Christmas you just never know what the future holds”-a thought so frightening I had to squash it immediately!!

Call them resolutions, goals, or simply a to-do list, here are things I’d like to happen this year:

  1. Learn to crochet
  2. Start running again (and keep it up!)
  3. Lose weight (yeah, I know everyone always says that but this has got to be the year since I spent literally all of 2012 unhappy with my size)
  4. Put my photo notecards in my etsy shop
  5. Get a new drivers license (this has been on my to-do list since my purse was stolen and I’m supposed to finally do it today. I put it on my list here so I can feel good about getting something done!)
  6. Do a better job of sitting down with Tabby and helping her with her letters, writing, and learning to read this year
  7. Be a good wife and mother-loving, supportive, kind, fun, and not so shouty or cross

Here are some things I’d love to happen but I doubt they will, so they go on a separate list:

  1. Put up some window treatments.
  2. Redo the family room: take down the horrible ceiling, remove the paneling and get it drywalled, get new carpet
  3. Pare down our toy collection
  4. Donate, throw out, consign any baby things or other things we no longer use or need to keep
  5. Make the basement room have some room for playing since it’s a nice storage room but when kids are over they always go in it and play
  6. From #4 and #5 make our basement and garage not look like we are hoarders

Now, let me take a peek at last year’s goals and see if I achieved any of them:

Wow! I actually did a great job last year, except for the running goal. And I see that the family room ceiling was also on the list. But I did preserve fresh produce, do a craft fair, and organize my recipes.

Here’s to a great 2013!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Here’s to a fresh, clean start for a new year! I, too, want to learn how to crochet, and I found this free pattern on Ravelry that looks pretty doable (and with inexpensive yarn, so I won’t feel bad if it doesn’t go well): http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/gift-bags-that-keep-on-giving. Here’s to giving it a try! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

