RSS Feed

An Afternoon of Baking (Plus! Guinea Pig update)

Posted on

I’m hosting a brunch on Sunday and wanted to make a variety of muffins.  I really like making quick bread and muffins and do find that they are very quick to make and was ever so pleased at making three separate recipes, baking them, washing all the dishes, and popping them all into the brand new chest freezer in just a couple of hours.
I made: lemon poppy seed break (I use a muffin recipe and I made this in 3 small mini loaves.)
Lemon Poppy Seed Bread
Cheddar Mustard Muffins. I made these mini-sized.
Cheddar Mustard Muffins
And Marmalade Muffins. There is a dollop of my homemade cranberry orange marmalade inside each and I glazed the top with confectioner’s sugar and orange juice.
Marmalade muffins: a dollop of cranberry orange marmalade inside and an orangey glaze
I even felt inspired to bake something else-a delicious biscotti. Despite having some issues during baking Paul declared, “This is the best biscotti you’ve ever made.” Now that’s a compliment I’ll happily take! They were pretty delicious and I want to make another batch already.
Cherry White Chocolate Biscotti
They have white chocolate, dried cherries, and walnuts in them.
Biscotti
Should be a tasty party!
In other news, I’m so excited to be working on a crafty project. I’m returning to an old favorite-decoupage-and doing a project I started over a year ago. It’s still in progress:
Decoupage in process

The guinea pigs are two weeks old now and very noisy and active. They are starting to plump a little bit and both eat regular food and nurse. Nibbles is beside himself lately calling out to the other cage and trying to reach them.
Please Let me out!

IMG_4164
Today I am bringing them in to Clark’s class for a little life sciences visit.
IMG_4162

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. Loved this post! It’s making me so hungry now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

